We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good news for the South End of LBI”
Review of Tuckers Tavern

Tuckers Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Tuckers Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 92 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Thanks to a spirited restoration after Superstorm Sandy, new owners were inspired by the best American Taverns and English Pubs. With a new gastro-pub menu, raw bar and an ever-changing selection of craft beers, Tuckers Tavern will satisfy your appetite for great food, friends and good times. Features covered outdoor deck, two bars with dining areas and two separate dining rooms, one with a fireplace. Available for private parties year round.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Good news for the South End of LBI”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Tuckers reopened this year under the same management as Plantation and Daddy O's. On a personal level, I'm pleased to have this option on the south end of the island. I was there on the opening night and they had a few kinks to work out, but having been back many times since, I think they are on a good course. Good atmosphere and great food. Happy Hour's at both bars with one serving raw bar oysters, etc. and the other with a selection of apps, etc. Some personal favorites on the menu, which spans lunch and dinner, include the asian-inspired wings, the shishito peppers, the octopus app, the brussels sprout salad (really great), sweet corn veloute, scallops and the burger. We've been working our way through the menu and I'm very optimistic about the food. Great group of bartenders and the service in the restaurant has been both friendly and attentive. Notably, they take reservations for both small and large parties. Outside dining available.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Onthebacknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    45
    24
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tuckers is back!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This place has recently been renovated by new owners. The remodel of the restaurant was great! I have been here 3 times now and the service has always been great! The food and drinks have been great too.

The inventive bar menu and large selection of draft beers are great. Make sure to try the Tuckers Tea or Blueberry sangria.

The food is also very good. The brussel sprouts salad is very good, a little on the spicy side. The Steak frites is also good. The prices are a little on the pricey side, however, over the past few years, I feel all restaurants on long beach island have seemed to have raised prices quite a bit. I still feel this place is great and worth the money!

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilliedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average Meal good atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Recently reopened after two years under new ownership. Completely redone interior & menu. We were able to get a table with little wait and the food was a little above average with large portions. The service was knowledgable and friendly. I would try it again giving them time to get settled in after just re opening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Denied access to a menu”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

So we stopped at Tucker's to check out their menu and see if there was anything that my four year old could eat an the hostess said this:

"No you can't see the menu. The pub is and the back deck!!"

So I replied with "I can't see the menu?!" And she replied with a "no!"

I then said "well we will go someplace else that will let me see their menu!!"

How awful to do that especially no knowing the circumstances of wanting to see the menu. What if the child has allergies etc...

Awful to do that. Will never go there again!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drechen2spence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An OK Family Friendly Dinner Spot”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We went here twice during our week down the shore - mainly because they take reservations and with an 18-month old, it's kind of essential as most other places in the area don't. They also have a kids menu.

Overall, our dinners were just ok. The food was average: fish and chips weren't bad but my tuna salad the second time wasn't very good. The appetizers were yummy (fried pickles, salad with fried brie) and they have a good selection of beers and specialty cocktails. The service however was good and the waitstaff friendly.

This isn't my favorite place in Beach Haven but if you need a spot that takes reservations so you're not waiting for an hour+, it's a good option.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahoy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuckers Tavern also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Tuckers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing