We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and pricey”

Black Whale Bar & Fish House
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loud and pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We went here on a recommendation of a friend and we were a bit disappointed. Even after having a reservation, we needed to wait about 15 minutes. We were asked if we wanted to be seated in a nook in the bar....but way too loud! Finally, we were seated at a booth in the dining room, which was also loud. Waitress was very nice. The crab avocado dip was bland, but my scallops wrapped in bacon were very good. The others at my table had fried scallops and crab cakes, but weren't that pleased.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mudcity, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jeanette, We are sorry you had a less than favorable experience at The Black Whale. I agree the nook can be a bit noisy due to it's proximity to the bar but it is what we like to call our VIP section! Some folks come in and wait specifically for that table. This time of year it is definitely noisier than the off season but summer on LBI is busy! Our crab and artichoke dip is one of our most favorite appetizers and our crab cakes are hand made on premise and are the same recipe as our sister restaurant's Mud City Crab House's award winning crab cakes, the fried scallops are fresh Barnegat Light scallops hand breaded on premise. We strive to provide our customers with the freshest ingredients at the most competitive prices. We hope that you will try us again. Please be sure to ask for Dina and she will make sure that you are seated as promptly as she is able to in a seat far away from the bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    104
    52
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent food, nice beers on tap. Great happy hour..great prices and fun group of friendly local people.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Grande, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour Drinks & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Make a reservation during season if you are a large party wanting to come in, they don't usually take reservations for smaller parties so be prepared to wait for a table. The bar is great! We personally enjoy sitting there, especially for their amazing happy hour! The drinks are great since they don't actually pour "well booze" in them, your getting a very good drink for your money. Also keep in mind the specialty drink menu for fun delicious cocktails. They offer a great wine selection to pair off with dinner too. Their homemade salad dressings are worth the visit, you can also order some to go home with you. Great seafood, steaks, burgers and more. Their chef is very creative with dinner specials, if they offer the Flying Hawaiian Spring Rolls, order TWO!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinLee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a terrible experience somewhere earlier and knew to expect a great experience at this restaurant. For some reason we did not have to wait! Our server Ryan was friendly and attentive . Food, as always, is delish.
You can't go wrong with anything you order. Everything is fresh and delicious.
Not sure why some people have had bad experiences. The owners would want to know. They pride themselves in their businesses..they own a few seafood restaurants .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Year Round Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Visited there this past Friday, 4/11/2014. Minimal wait for a table. Food was good and fresh. As others have mentioned, the prices are a little higher but I would not rate it overpriced given the quality. My only complaint is that I'm a little turned off when you grab for the salt or pepper and your hands get sticky or greasy from it. Each table has a holder for hot sauces and condiments. Everytime I grabbed for something my hand came back greasy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryW7489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Whale Bar & Fish House also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Black Whale Bar & Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing