We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Resturant...”

Black Whale Bar & Fish House
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Black Whale is a great place to grab a bite. The food is delicious, including their homemade salad dressing!! The scallops wrapped in bacon with the honey sauce is amazing! I highly recommend it. There was nothing that we tried that we did not like. The bar scene was great as well as their drink menu. It is located just a few blocks from Fantasy Island it's a nice walk. Looking forward to heading back to the Black Whale in a few weeks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had lunch at the Black Whale on Saturday, the first day of summer and I'm glad to say it was great as always!! Baked garlic clams, lobster roll, blackened Grouper sandwich...couldn't have been better. This is one of our favorites on the island and we will be back for many more meals this summer, looking forward to them already!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lafittes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

SImple menu, but great food - plenty of great drinks and beers too! Relaxed setting in Beach Haven and we've never had a bad meal there. In fact, it is always one of our first choices for lunch or dinner. Plenty of restaurant options on the Island, but you can never go wrong with the Black Whale.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went here on a recommendation of a friend and we were a bit disappointed. Even after having a reservation, we needed to wait about 15 minutes. We were asked if we wanted to be seated in a nook in the bar....but way too loud! Finally, we were seated at a booth in the dining room, which was also loud. Waitress was very nice. The crab avocado dip was bland, but my scallops wrapped in bacon were very good. The others at my table had fried scallops and crab cakes, but weren't that pleased.

1  Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mudcity, Owner at Black Whale Bar & Fish House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Jeanette, We are sorry you had a less than favorable experience at The Black Whale. I agree the nook can be a bit noisy due to it's proximity to the bar but it is what we like to call our VIP section! Some folks come in and wait specifically for that table. This time of year it is definitely noisier than the off season but summer on LBI is busy! Our crab and artichoke dip is one of our most favorite appetizers and our crab cakes are hand made on premise and are the same recipe as our sister restaurant's Mud City Crab House's award winning crab cakes, the fried scallops are fresh Barnegat Light scallops hand breaded on premise. We strive to provide our customers with the freshest ingredients at the most competitive prices. We hope that you will try us again. Please be sure to ask for Dina and she will make sure that you are seated as promptly as she is able to in a seat far away from the bar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent food, nice beers on tap. Great happy hour..great prices and fun group of friendly local people.

Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Whale Bar & Fish House also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Surf City, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Black Whale Bar & Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing