We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Meltdown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Meltdown Ice Cream

Meltdown Ice Cream
Ranked #6 of 11 Dessert in Beach Haven
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Baltimore, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love Meltdown!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Always a hit with the kids and no trip to LBI is complete without a trip to Meltdown! It's fun to stand in line an figure out what you're going to have every time!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North, VA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Decent ice cream and coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Cute elevated ice cream parlor and coffee shop. Doesn't come up to the level of the homemade ice cream in my local ice cream shop in Gloucester VA but it's a decent substitute.
Great looking ice cream cakes for a special celebration.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My daughter's Favorite Ice Cream place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

No trip to LBI is complete for my daughter without a trip to the meltdown. They have a great ice cream selection and even the smallest kids size is generous (that is what I always get as the ice cream is good, but rich).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHT48310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Meltdown is awesome - great ice cream varieties, lots of options, quick service, and fair prices! We stayed at the motel across the street and went there our first 2 nights, and was not disappointed. We tried another place on the island on the 3rd night and we were over-charged and they didn't have the selection Meltdown did. It's crowded, there's a line out the door, but it's worth the wait!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best sundaes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I love the sundaes here - the meltdown has 2 scoops, with caramel, peanut butter and hot fudge and whipped cream and a cherry. So good. The smalls are a huge two scoops, so for kids I recommend the kiddie cups! They play cool music, have lots of seating. Check out the ice cream cakes that are decorated with beach scenes and lighthouses. They are VERY allergy friendly and aware.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethW06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meltdown Ice Cream also viewed

Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Meltdown Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing