We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont waste your money or time”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Engleside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Engleside Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont waste your money or time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

What was to be a romantic dinner for my wife & I on our first anniversary was an absolute nightmare here. This place I found on the web but i'm sorry I did.

We got there on a very stormy Saturday night. We got in and were seated right where an air conditioner was blowing on us. From being dampened from the storm, it was the last place we needed to be. After waiting ten minutes for a waiter or waitress, I finally got up and asked the HOST to move us to another table; it was like asking him for a root canal.

We wanted a quiet night with good food.... was the last thing we got. The HOSTESS finally moved us but into the Bar area; noisy but our waitress came to us quickly, which we appreciated.

We ordered seafood combos that had scallops, shrimp & lobster tail. The scallops were like butter delicious, the shrimp were ok but the lobster tails.... worst we ever had; was like chewing rubber!

Bottom line: We hated it and will NEVER recommend this place nor give it a second thought ever again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ROBJON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    56
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
80
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had another wonderful week on LBI again. Engleside Inn is by far, the best place to stay. Room 105 is the most spacious unit they have (full kitchen, living room and eating area with separate bedroom). We had a great time on the beach and just walking around the town. Even though most of the local stores were closed for renovations from the storm in 2012, it was great being back "home away from home". Our dogs, Kayla (golden retriever) and Sam (yellow lab puppy) loved running on the beach and spending time with us. We had room service from the hotel's restaurant and of course, the food was fabulous. We can't wait for October to come so we can take the dogs back down to the Engleside Inn. See you in October, 2013.

Room Tip: Choose Room 105 - efficiency suite. You will have a full kitchen, eating area and living room and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karlielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Friends and I were looking for somewhere on the shore that felt very "beachy". After doing the research, we chose the Engleside. I am so happy you survived Sandy, as we will be back in June.
I've spent many vacations at the shore in different areas, but this was great. We had a 2 room suite on the 3rd floor. Downside was the steps, but we only used them once a day.

The room was clean, comfy beds, efficiency kitchen for our snacks and cocktails. We loved sitting outside with view of ocean and bay sunset.

The proximity to the beach is just great. Sunrise with a pod of dolphins made it memorable. The beach bar was fun for lunch, always good with happy service. Reasonable and very convenient. I just loved walking barefoot from the beach. The servers were happy, friendly, and let us sit there as long as we wanted. Lunches were always good. I can't say anything bad about this tiki bar. I enjoyed the mix of friendly people, young and old.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maryann i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We just stayed overnight for the second time in a year at the Engleside Inn. Both times we stayed in one of their two room suites, which include a typical hotel bathroom, a bedroom with two beds, a chair, and large television, as well as a living room area with a couch, very comfortable arm chair, table and chairs, and kitchenette area with a refrigerator, microwave, faucet, and tableware/utensils. There is also a sundeck-type balcony with two lounge chairs and two chairs looking out to the ocean.

Everything is clean and comfortable. Nothing is super fancy, but when we're down the shore (especially in one of our favorite places, LBI), we're looking to relax not get pampered.

We ate dinner at the restaurant, which is a little pricier than other nearby restaurants, but the food is reliably good, plus they have sushi, which is a favorite of our son. At dinner, we were surprised to be charged for each glass of iced tea and soda we drank, but other than that, we enjoyed our meal there.

The hotel is right on the beach and has a good sized pool. They are within walking distance to just about all of the Beach Haven attractions, restaurants, and shops.

There are only a handful of hotels and motels on LBI, some of which are getting to be a little run down, but the Engleside is clean, on the beach, and close to everything Beach Haven has to offer.

We were happy to see that no hurricane can keep the Engleside or LBI down!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDESK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I've stayed here for over 20 years, and have avoided reviewing the hotel (previous review was really for the restaurant) because I've questioned my objectivity. I do not own the Engleside, or any property on the island, but after a lifetime of vacationing on the island, 20-some years of it at the Engleside, I feel that maybe I know it better.
The island is rebuilding after amazing damage, but I just spent several days and have to say that the hotel is just as it has been during my earlier visits. The staff are helpful, the rooms are super clean, and the oceanfront room view is still wonderful! Bed is comfy with big fluffy duvet, and the big chair is a great place to watch the beach while the wind whips around outside! (rooms vary-your room and view may be differernt!)
LBI is rebuilding, but the spirit of the people there is strong and I would not hesitate to return. The beach is still beautiful, the ocean is still facinating, and the Engleside is still comfortable and friendly.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank goinmobile68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Right on the beach, very nice restaurant with sushi bar, pool area with a bar and of course the beach!~ We like coming here in the off season, however summer is a great time too. I think you get more peace in the spring or fall! We always return to LBI hurricane or not!

Room Tip: second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esanford01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest, NJ
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

We have been having a girlfriend weekend for 4 years at the Engleside Inn. It has become a cherished annual event....no kids, no hubbies, just girl talk and fun. This year we were faced with the decision of going elsewhere because of the damage from Hurricane Sandy. We were assured the hotel is fully operational and many of the area eateries and bars would be open by our June trip. We have faith and are returning to support LBI this year and staying at the Inn.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Happy_Trails96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
5.3 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
16.5 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 8 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sea Horse Motel
Sea Horse Motel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engleside Inn

Property: Engleside Inn
Address: 30 Engleside Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1790
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Engleside Hotel Beach Haven
Engleside Inn Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing