We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Engleside Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Beach Haven
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spray Beach Hotel(Beach Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buccaneer Motel(Beach Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Spray Motel(Beach Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jolly Roger Motel(Beach Haven)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haven Beach Motel(Beach Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Beach Inn(Beach Haven)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
87
61
32
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
61
32
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand barsushioff seasonocean viewroom servicethird floorno elevatorliving roomfront officedouble queenwithin walking distancehas great foodextensive menuprime ribamusement areaoutdoor barlive music
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We just returned from LBI! What a wonderful trip. We reserved 2 efficiency suites, room 303 & 304. The rooms were clean, newly furnished, lovely deck with ocean view, spacious living room with a comfy (YES COMFY!) couch bed.

The staff were very accomodating & attentive. Usually we rent a house for a few weeks every other year at the Jersey Shore, but this year we did not, opting instead for a few days at the beach.

We were able to use the pool, beach badges & bathroom facilities before our rooms were ready. The food at the Sand Bar was very good, servers were good and live music was entertaining.

My only concern was in Suite 304 they a/c unit in the bedroom area was not as efficient at cooling the room as I would hope. But it didn't effect us at all.

Housekeeping staff very hard working.

Fun family vacation easy walk to all the sights that kids like to see ice cream, market, mini-golf & fantasy island!

Glad to see LBI is STRONGER THAN THE STORM!

Room Tip: try to reserve a room on a top floor with some type of view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mojerzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We got the ocean front room so the view was better than other rooms. However, the room had cheapest looking furnitures and looked like nothing has been updated since 80's. I didn't want my kids to sit on the carpeted floor in the room. The swimming pool looked like no one was cleaning the area and moss was growing around the brick floor. Again I had to tell my kids to ware slippers and not to walk around bare foot. The location was the highlight of this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Traveled to LBI and stayed at Engleside June 16-19. We took advantage of their fantastic buy 2 nights get 3rd for $35. We are two adults with a 4- and 2-year-old. Stayed in Room 212 and were really pleased. The room was large and newly renovated. It's an efficiency with microwave, fridge, toaster, coffee maker, and 4 seat dining table. All very clean and well kept. Engleside has a lot to offer --
- Right on the beach, can't beat it.
- Large HEATED pool with poolside bar/restaurant
- Showers and changing room for any guest prior or post (day of) checkout! Check in is at 3 -- get there early, use their changing facilities, go to the beach and they will call your cell phone when your room is ready.
- Nice restaurant. We had sushi and it was good and my husband is Japanese!
- Plenty of parking, walking distance to grocery store and restaurants
- Everyone we spoke to at the front desk was lovely

Tips: 1) Might want to stay on 3rd floor if available. There was some noise from heavy footfalls overhead. 2) Beach right in front of hotel dropped off rather precipitously -- not kid friendly. However, simply walk 100 ft to the right of the breakers and beach is nice and gradual for kids who like to play tag with the waves. We figures that out on the second day.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Might want to stay on 3rd floor if available. There was some noise from heavy footfalls overhead.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Engleside Inn is literally right on the beach. You could throw a baseball from any of the rooms and hit the sand. The beach is very clean and family friendly. No beach passes required either. The hotel also has a nice size pool and a beach bar ( great for a quick lunch on a beautiful day). The inside of the rooms are clean but there isnt much going on there decor-wise. Its perfectly fine but it isnt by any means extravagant. The bare necessities if you will.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kstino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

What was to be a romantic dinner for my wife & I on our first anniversary was an absolute nightmare here. This place I found on the web but i'm sorry I did.

We got there on a very stormy Saturday night. We got in and were seated right where an air conditioner was blowing on us. From being dampened from the storm, it was the last place we needed to be. After waiting ten minutes for a waiter or waitress, I finally got up and asked the HOST to move us to another table; it was like asking him for a root canal.

We wanted a quiet night with good food.... was the last thing we got. The HOSTESS finally moved us but into the Bar area; noisy but our waitress came to us quickly, which we appreciated.

We ordered seafood combos that had scallops, shrimp & lobster tail. The scallops were like butter delicious, the shrimp were ok but the lobster tails.... worst we ever had; was like chewing rubber!

Bottom line: We hated it and will NEVER recommend this place nor give it a second thought ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank ROBJON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews