We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and pet friendly”
Review of Engleside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Engleside Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We wanted to go to the beach for a few days and had trouble finding hotels on the Jersey Shore that let you bring dogs. This place did and we got a deal if you stayed 3 nights the fourth night was free and no pet fee! Unbelievable, some places charge up to $30 a dog a night (we have 2).The place was really great and super close to the beach so you could run back and forth to your room for items you needed. Loved Beach Haven in general and would return.

Room Tip: We had to stay on the bottom floor because our dogs have arthritis and can't do steps, but the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We went to the Engleside for my birthday weekend and it couldn't have been nicer for a shore hotel. We got an oceanfront suite with 2 double beds, a small efficiency kitchen, and a living room with a great view of the ocean. The balcony had new comfortable lounge chairs. We didn't need them, but the sofas opened up to queen-size beds. The suite was clean and fresh- smelling with basic amenities like an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, small fridge, coffee pot, toaster, and frying pans. It even had a small bottle of Palmolive dish soap. There were 2 tv's and 2 DVD players.

Room service was available from the Engleside restaurant, which is one of LBI's best restaurants. We didn't use room service, but it was good to know it was available. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. It's a comfortable inn, but don't expect a luxury hotel. One downside is that there is no elevator, although I believe you could ask for help in carrying your bags. We were on the second floor, but last time we were on the third floor, which has a better view since it's higher up over the parking lot which is behind the building before the dunes and ocean. We went the last week in October, which is when some of the restaurants close for the winter (Stefano's and Chicken or the Egg), so it was relatively quiet (although you may hear dogs barking in the morning since animals appear to be permitted).

Overall, we had a great time and I'd consider making this an annual event. We always rent a condo in the summer and staying at the Engleside in October is a great way to say goodbye to summer/fall and get ready for the holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CyprusMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just spent 4 days at a conference hosted at the Engleside. The staff went out of their way to make sure all our needs were taken care of. It was a wonderful place to hold and attend an event. I would highly recommend it!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Friend and I decided to go down during October. We had a great time. She brought her very well behaved dog. The weather was perfect, the pool and ocean were wonderful. We especially like the convenience. The Sand Bar's friendly staff and poolside service can't be beat! We also love the Sushi!

The rooms on the first floor are not as nice. We choose ocean front efficiency, which was very nice and affordable in October. Third time there and we'll be back!

Engleside is a great "Beachy" find. Love it.

Room Tip: Don't choose 1st floor, rooms are outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryann i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

..and we can't wait to go back! We go off season (usually May and Sept-Oct), so we can bring the dogs. That's the best thing about this place, it's very dog friendly! There's a huge park right across the street to walk them in the morning, not to mention they are allowed on the beach. We always stay in room 310. It's definitely worth the $$. It's super clean and the service has always been excellent for us. We love everything about The Engleside and recommend it to friends often. The last time we were here was, I believe, May 2011, we haven't been back since, because of an old dog that recently passed. There are no elevators, only stairs, and he couldn't make the three flights. We are heading down this month with our other two dogs. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyDuffy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

First, it is difficult to find a true oceanfront hotel at beach haven...so the location is what brings it from "average" to "very good". As most people have said, pool area is nice, pool is clean and heated. Poolside bar and grill is fine, though food is not as good as the Sea Shell next door. The beach is right there, and you could have beautiful views from the second story or third. The changing room is NOT great. There are three toilet stalls, with no hooks on the walls. there is a shower. There is no other private space, like a dressing room. So, it makes it very difficult to maneuver, especially if you are elderly or large. We had an oceanfront suite, with two double beds in the bedroom and two pull-out sofas in the living room. The sofa beds were excruciatingly uncomfortable. The other beds were better, but not great. The bedroom just barely fit the two beds and a small dresser. The bathroom was small, without any storage capability, but it was clean. The kitchenette was convenient, though the coffee pot held only 4 cups and the trash can was so small, we would have to use the bathroom one as well. The tv was small, and you couldn't hear it because the AC unit was so darn loud. we should have called management about it, but didn't. we did call mgmt about the outside deck light, which was broken. They sent someone up immediately to fix it. last, but not least...if you could avoid our room, number 221, do so. The problem is that the laundry facilities are right below it, so all the hot air, noise and even some lint, wafts up to your deck. So what would be a beautiful view and quiet relaxing time is ruined by the laundry.

Room Tip: Avoid 221 because of laundry facilities below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We love the Engleside Inn - it is perfect for the whole family. We love being right on the beach and also having a heated pool. The Sandbar has great food and delicious drinks. The rooms are nice - nothing fancy. The location is really what sells this place - we can walk to dinner, ice cream, mini-golf, shopping, etc.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
1.2 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
173 reviews
6.9 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
12.1 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
124 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
1.3 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engleside Inn

Address: 30 Engleside Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1790
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range: £46 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Engleside Hotel Beach Haven
Engleside Inn Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing