We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time”
Review of Engleside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Engleside Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Beach Haven
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This was our 3rd fall vacation at the Engleside Inn and each year its better than the last. This year we occupied the efficiency suite and "wow". The suite was very very nice and lots of room for our golden retriever and black lab to play in. If anyone plans on vacationing with their dogs, this is the place to stay at! Wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Engleside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

the room was clean--I have to say--BUT for what they charged I would want a room that was NOT stuck in the '50s!!--what's with the floral border & wall paper--what's with NOT having a locking doorknob on the bathroom--the room that was supposed to be $165 turned out to be $189 with all the hidden fees--I know that there would be a state tax BUT what is that "occupancy fee" of $8.25 each day?--so you pay state tax--municipal tax $4.95 each day & the occupancy fee--NOT worth the $$$$$

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank mary024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We found the Engleside via web search and it sounded interesting. Well this place is a GAS! It is right on the beach! There are about 17 rooms that have private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Visit their web-site for actual details.

I just want to tell you, here, how much fun we had there! Our room, 222, was plenty clean and spacious for the 2 of us.(It actually has 2 queens in it.) The Sandbar has great food and service. Then there's the sushi bar, bar and Leeward Room inside. That's three places to eat and have drinks, without even leaving the property!
The beach is literally over the dune and is easily accessed by a path directly from the Sandbar! We got to running back and forth, during the beach day, for refeshing cocktails and snacks! The proximity to the beach also makes night time beach strolls very attractive. Oooo, the cool sand under your feet!
Most afternoons, during "High Season" there is acoustic music from 3 to 7. Also, it is a VERY "kid-friendly", family oriented establishment. There was a TON of kids, of all ages, there during our stay. That may be a consideration to take under advisement if you like more serene "adult" places. Family people, do not hesitate! Everything is "right there", which minimizes your planning for beach visits, meals, etc.
Interestingly, it becomes very quiet after the Sandbar crowd ebbs, making it a very quiet place at night. We loved sitting on our balcony, sipping wine and listening to the surf roll in and out.
One thing lacking is, they do not serve breakfast. However, they do offer a morning coffee station with various muffins, etc.
Many shopping opportunities and dining alternatives are within a few blocks walk.
All-in-all a very nice, convenient and fun place for couples and families alike!
We WILL be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxanddenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This was our 4th stay at the Engleside and over a dozen on LBI itself. This is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at. I got tired of the dingy, worn weekly rentals and started staying here. They get the sand out which invariably finds it way in. It is in the middle of everything but once the doors were shut, no noise at all. The oceanfront view is excellent and there are two restaurants. Only the Sushi bar is open inside for lunch but the shore side dining is excellent. We ate several lunches and one dinner at the hotel. The dining room is white table cloth and candles a bit formal but everyone was dressed casually. The food was delicious. I love the location. Bay village is a short walk away with plenty of shopping. We always had the rule that this was a "beach" vacation and not our "Disney" vacation so no arcades or Fantasy Island. It is so close to everything that you do not need to drive at all. There is plenty of other dining choices within walking distance. I had to call the front desk twice for minor things and they cam right away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marykatesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

What an enjoyable three days at Engleside. Pricey rooms in-season but worth the extra cost. Our oceanfront room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. The private balcony overlooking the ocean was a real plus for cocktails and cards. We highly recommend eating lunch at the Sand Bar. We had the most delicious fried fish sandwich ever! The pool was crystal clear and the lifeguard was adorably chatty and friendly. We have been back twice since our first visit and will continue coming to Engleside.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

First time back to LBI in 15 years, we decided to try this place based on the reviews here. What a place our room was the cleanest I've been in, steps from the beach, staff was great. Staying this early in the season has it's draw backs ( some shops open some not ) , but no crowds our 2 and 4 yr olds loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loco208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed in the ocean front suite with jacuzzi and a large deck. It was very clean and comfortable with an amazing view. Pets are permitted at this time of year which was great for us. Room service and food from the Leeward Restraunt was excellent as was the maid service. Can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chick217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
6.9 mi away
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
1.2 mi away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Beach Haven
169 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mariner Inn
Mariner Inn
#7 of 12 in Beach Haven
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
123 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
1.3 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#8 of 12 in Beach Haven
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engleside Inn

Address: 30 Engleside Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1790
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price Range: £45 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Engleside Hotel Beach Haven
Engleside Inn Beach Haven, New Jersey - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing