We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Philadelphia - Bellmawr
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bellmawr
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value, fine hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

This hotel was the cheapest we could find in the right area of NJ that had good reviews. As others have said, the whole chain have been recently renovated, and the room exceeded my expectations given the price. Everything was in good shape and clean. The location is very convenient -- the hotel is visible from the turnpike exit ramp. And when I called up to check that a middle of the night checkin was okay, no only were they fine with that but the price they quoted per night was cheaper than any I had seen listed online, and got cheaper still when I said I had AAA.

The walls are thin (as at many places), but we discovered that if you run the bathroom fan that drowns out any noise from other rooms and makes it easy to sleep.

  • Liked — good value
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tzarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    27
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
22
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

This is a newer motel in a decent neighborhood. The room was clean and had a flat panel TV. The free breakfast was OK but the choices were limited. They did have a fancy coffeemaker that could make anything you could want. Overall a good experience but at $80 it seemed pricey except that you are on the east coast where they just don't have $50 motels.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chipnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENNESAW, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2007

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn for 2 weeks on business. I wish before I came that I knew it did include suites. I stayed in business class and there was no microwave or fridge. Upseting due to the length of my stay but liveable. If you book online you can get a suite for just 5 dollars more so I would go for the suite next time for convience. Other than that it was a great, clean hotel. In GA , where I reside, I have only seen Red Roof Inn motels. It was nice to see that this was a newly renovated hotel with an awesome staff. The staff helped me when ever I asked and I even had some nice conversations with them in my spare time. I loved the flat screen HDTV. They also had their network tv channels in HD. I also found the audio and video input so I could hook up my playstation to play games and watch movies. (for the review at the top: it was in the back in the middle, ya just gotta feel around for it) The wireless internet was great and the hot water was hot! The tap got so hot I would consider it boiling water. Room was clean reguarly in the morning and if I said "Do not Disturb" they would leave fresh towels on the door. I felt safe here and none of my items ended up missing. The parking is free and there is a Walmart 2 miles down the road. There is a great Chinese and Mexican resturant in walking distance. It is also not to far from Philly if you have a car. A nice 25 min drive (i dont drive fast here).

Down side: You are very close to the turnpike (kinda a upside to) but that makes for leaving the hotel a long wait at times. No fridge and microwave but easily solved with upgrade. I felt like my room key stopped working constantly and I did not have it close to any electronics. But the staff would help me quickly. I reccommend it if ya dont wanna pay Philly rates.

  • Liked — Flat screen HDTV
  • Disliked — No fridge or Microwave in business class
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BCCDIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2007

The Red Roof Inn in Bellmawr is a great place to stay if you're looking to save some money and planning to drive into Philly. It's in a benign suburban-sprawl neighborhood, near some fast food joints (McDonald's, Burger King, Dunkin Donuts) and a few other discount hotels that didn't look as nice. It's a quick drive into Philadelphia for a $3 bridge toll, and it cost us about 1/3 of the price of anything that looked decent in Philly itself. One downside is that it would be pretty tough to figure out how to take public transportation into Philly; the train station is too far to walk to, and I didn't see any bus lines or taxis. The parking lot at the hotel is free and spacious, but parking in downtown Philadelphia is expensive!

The hotel is pretty new, and everything in our room was clean and in good repair. We had a flat screen TV (the hotel model with no input jacks for our DVD player) and a hair dryer, iron and ironing board. No fridge or microwave in the room, but an ice machine and a microwave are in the lobby. The high speed internet worked great. The shower head is high, which my tall husband appreciates, and the hot water was steady. We liked the computer desk with its own lamp.

There is no pool or playground nearby, so kids will be restricted to the hotel room until you drive them somewhere. The only other clientele I saw were construction workers and sports teams, and I felt safe at this hotel. It's nice that the building is pretty new; there was no used-to-be-a-smoking-room smell and my clothes didn't smell like a hotel when I got home either.

If you don't get out of your room by 11am every day, the maids will not clean it, but you can get extra towels. The day manager seemed grumpy about our comings and goings--we were on California time with a 2-year-old so we never got out of our room "on time:--but everyone else was pleasant. We left our laptop computer and DVD player in the room for 5 nights without incident.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone who is OK with a budget hotel environment and who doesn't want to spend big bucks to stay in Philadelphia.

  • Liked — Clean, inexpensive, proximity to Philadelphia
  • Disliked — Grumpy morning manager
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Twirlgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2007

My friends and I just came back from the Red Roof Inn in Bellmawr,NJ. My buddy booked the Econolodge next door and decided to cancel after reading the review on TA and finding a better rate at the RRI. That was a very smart decision since all the other hotels in that neighborhood look damn right scary. Considering that this is an "economy" type hotel, we were very surprised by the size of our rooms, which were huge! Everything was clean and smelled good. There is a fridge and a microwave as well. Beds were very comfortable and the sheets were clean. The free continental breakfast was average. There were no bagels, only toasts, 2 kinds of cereals and mini-muffins. The coffee was not good at all and none of the juice tasted good aside from the OJ. The dude at the front desk didn't know much about the neighborhood but he was friendly and did his best to help.

Overall, this is really the best bang for your buck if you want to stay near Philadelphia and don't want to pay the crazy high rates for a room near Center City. It is one of their newly redesigned hotels and frankly, it looks brand new!

  • Liked — Awesome rate, great room, clean Hotel
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mtlatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2006

A new hotel that offers good value for money, large rooms especially if you get the business rooms the beds are massive.

The decor is modern and tasteful and the staff were always willing to help. The prorety s based in a town that offers many eating choices aswell as Dominic's the local bar that is a 10 min walk around the corner, there is also a dunking donuts and a fast ffod outles just across the road.

The only downside we found was the location, normally it would be ideal but we were under the impression that it was closer to Philadelphia than it was (Probably our error!!) There is a bus that stops outside the hotel No 400 however it's a 50min trip in a dirty smelly bus and goes through some very rough places, the other option is a taxi but that would set you back $35

All in all a great hotel that I would reccomend to close friends BUT not if they were going into Philadelphia to do the sightseeing stuff!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dew_4wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellmawr
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Bellmawr/Philadelphia Area
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Runnemede - Philadelphia
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Deptford
Fairfield Inn Deptford
#1 of 2 in Deptford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Runnemede Philadelphia Area
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Deptford
Residence Inn Deptford
#2 of 2 in Deptford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Blackwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Philadelphia - Bellmawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Philadelphia - Bellmawr

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Philadelphia - Bellmawr
Address: 217 S Black Horse Pike, Bellmawr, NJ 08031-2312 (Formerly Motel 6)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Bellmawr
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bellmawr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Philadelphia - Bellmawr 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is located just a few minutes drive from the Ritz Theater, Camden Aquarium and Cherry Hill Amtrak Station. We offer free WiFi, flat screen TVs, free parking, and coffee in our lobby 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Philadelphia - Bellmawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Bellmawr
Bellmawr Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing