We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway!”
Review of Tandem Bike Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tandem Bike Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had such a wonderful impromptu getaway weekend at the Tandem Bike Inn. Mike and Anne Marie were very welcoming guests and Ann Marie's breakfasts and afternoon freshly baked cookies were absolutely delicious! The beach was a little far, but walkable and the Inn provided beach badges, towels, beach chairs and a big beach push cart which made the walk, and the beach experience, a whole lot easier.
Overall, it was a great stay and a wonderful B&B that we would definitely stay at again!

Room Tip: Note that the "Ocean Breeze" room is apparently directly over Mike and Anne Marie's po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
103
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is an adorable bed and breakfast a little over half a mile from the beach. It definitely was a walkable distance straight down 10th Ave. My friend and I stayed here the night before the NJ Marathon/Long Branch Half Marathon. There is parking behind the BnB so go down the driveway. We did not have an issue getting into a spot, but they might be tight for a large SUV. There seemed to be street parking though.

We were greeted by the owners who showed us the lay of the land. In the breakfast area there is coffee, tea, and hot water. The mini fridge had yogurt, fresh water, and milk. There are a number of magazines in the living room area which you could take out to the large porch with rocking chairs. The owners gave us tips for restaurants in the area. There is a security code if you come in late at night (10 or 11 pm).

We stayed in the two twin beds room which was a good size. There was a small flat screen tv mounted to the wall and it included Verizon cable with pretty much all of the channels you could want. The bathroom had a sink with a shower (no tub, not an issue for us). The room and entire BnB seemed very clean. The comforter was so white and clean you’d think it was brand new. My only complaint about the room was the walls were very thin. You could hear the other guests including a screaming toddler. Luckily, no one was up late so it did not bother us.

We were going to be up extremely early to get to the race so the owners left us out some food so we would not miss breakfast. They offered to give us more, but fruit and cereal is all we needed before a race.

I would definitely recommend the Tandem Bike Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently spent a relaxing and wonderful getaway night at Tandem Bike Inn and Mike+Anne Marie couldn't have been better hosts. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and took advantage of the 24/7 cookies and beverages. The accomodations were clean and neat, very comfortable. The entire feel of the B&B is 'comfort'. We look forward to returning...hopefully, very soon. Thanks Mike+AnneMarie...very nice time and enjoyed meeting you both.

Room Tip: Sorry...no pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Mike and Ann Marie were extremely kind, helpful and very accomodating. Breakfast and the afternoon snacks were a special treat. Learning how to tandem bike ride was a bonus, overall great stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesca e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I do not normally write reviews, but this is a worthwhile and enjoyable exception.

The Tandem Bike Inn is The Best Bed and Breakfast my wife and I have ever experienced. We had the distinct pleasure to stay at the Tandem Bike Inn during Belmar's "Tour of the Inns Holiday Kickoff". We walked the main street shops that offered warm drinks and tasty tidbits, toured other local B&Bs (In my opinion we stayed at the best one), and visited the Belmar Christmas Tree Lighting and Holiday Raffle. Last but not least, we had a heart-warming encounter when the Tandem Bike Inn invited "Caring Santa" to visit with local special needs children. We had a beautifully memorable experience!

New owners, Mike and Anne Marie, purchased the inn a few years ago and turned it into an attractive, comfy and cozy hostelry. Beautiful rooms with a fireplace, jacuzzi, and en suite, gourmet breakfasts, fresh baked goodies out for the taking, comfortable veranda, and spacious parlor with a warm fireplace. The entire experience was like staying with family (the ones you really like to hand around with!)

The Inn is perfectly located, not too far from the train station, and within walking distance of the beach, new boardwalk, quaint main street shops, restaurants and churches.

The Tandem Bike Inn was absolutely phenomenal !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Last minute weekend stay in Belmar - perfect location - owners offer great breakfast - decor is modern and clean - rooms look brand new - stay includes beach passes and bikes. Definitely coming back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Tandem recently and could not have been treated any better by Mike and Ann Marie. We had contacted another Inn in the area but there were closed and suggested we call the Tandem. Glad we did. Beautiful Inn. Their hospitality made us feel like we were staying with friends. We were in Belmar off-season to visit our son. While not beach weather it was really nice to be able to walk to the beach/boardwalk (which is totally re-done). Our breakfast of french toast and sausage gave true meaning to home-made. It was great. I wish I knew how they can keep the place so clean. Spotless.

We wil stay at The Tandem again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
3.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandem Bike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandem Bike Inn

Property: Tandem Bike Inn
Address: 603 10th Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2318
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tandem Bike Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tandem Bike Inn is conveniently located a short one hour drive from Philadelphia and from New York City. And, the train from New York City's Penn Station, Newark's Penn Station and Newark's Liberty International Airport drops passengers just two blocks from the Inn’s front door. Located just one block off Main Street and a short walk to the beach and marina the Tandem Bike Inn is perfectly situated for a restful and relaxing vacation. We feature eight newly renovated rooms all with private baths, all new beds, guest controlled air conditioning and heat, flat screen TVs with DVD players and free movie channels, free wireless internet, home made breakfast, afternoon tea, beach tags for all guests and much more. Some rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Tandem Bike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tandem Bike Inn New Jersey/Belmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing