We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Review of Saltwater Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltwater Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My husband Carl and I had a fantastic and relaxing time at Saltwater Inn!! We arrived for our 26th anniversary and stay in the "Sea of Love" room which was clean and romantic. The owners were very sweet and welcoming. The breakfast was so good, we wished for a bigger portion. Also, it would be nice to be able to hang on to your beach tags for the majority of the check out day though, since most people don't leave right after check out. Overall, saltwater inn is a really nice place to stay!!!
Janette

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsfurryfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce R, Owner at Saltwater Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Hi Janette it's Marty. Joyce and I are so glad you and Carl had a great time here at Saltwater Inn. Thank you for the "Excellent Rating". Like you all of our guest are amazed by Joyce's breakfast. Yes they are soon delicious and beautiful. Some guests have commented to us that they were so satisfied they they skipped lunch. Our herb baked quiche serving is a quarter of the entire quiche with crumbled bacon, five roasted sweet italian peppers and fruit. Our homemade cinnamon Beligum waffels are four quartered waffels with sweet italian sausage and pineapple skewers. These are just a couple of examples of our breakfast. Once our guests check out of the Inn we do need the room keys and beach badges returned for the new guests checking in. We are usually fully occupied between Memorial Day and Labor Day. The good news is that if you decide to go back to the beach after checking out Belmar only charges $7. to enjoy the beach for the entire day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I received a gift from our good friends to stay at Saltwater Inn for our 25th wedding anniversary. From the moment we entered the Inn we knew it was going to be a great stay. Marty and Joyce are so warm and welcoming. The place is decorated with no detail overlooked. It has a tranquil beach feel and it is meticulously maintained. Our room was the Sea of Love. Everything in the room was brand new and beautiful. We had a king tempurpedic bed that was so comfortable it was the first time I woke up with out back pain in years ( I might have to buy one). The bathrooms are nicely appointed with Italian tile, vanity with granite counter top and frame less glass shower doors. This is not your typical tired musty old B&B. It is definitely the coolest bed and breakfast we have ever visited. If that isn’t enough breakfast is truly gourmet. The presentation is so nice I wanted to take a picture of it but it looked and smelt so good I just dug right in. Wow! Joyce is such an amazing chef. We love Saltwater Inn and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINO F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Saltwater Inn provided our family with a wonderful place for a getaway weekend. The accommodations were outstanding with gracious hospitality and a very inviting decor. The food was delicious and served with charm and elegance. Marty and Joyce were devoted to making our stay so special.... and attentive to our every need. We highly recommend the Saltwater Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuniG994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

What a great experience we had staying at the Saltwater Inn on this beautiful October weekend, it has exceeded our expectations in every area, and we have stayed in many places.
They offer great hospitality experience, from their incredibly delicious smoothie drink when first walk in to gourmet breakfast served, you wont be disappointed. My wife had a massage while I was catching up on my sports news :) When you walk in you will notice lots of attention to detail has been invested into this place. Marty & Joyce go above and beyond their duties as hosts, they know the area well and have recommended great Italian restaurant right around a corner from heir place, food was incredible, good thing we took a long walk prior to having dinner on the boardwalk :)

We will definitely return and recommend the Saltwater Inn to folks we know without a doubt.

One more thing, what a great place for family reunions, small groups to meet, hit the beach or just get away from everyday routine. Just do it, have a special time with someone who is special to you.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

If your vacation plans include staying at a boutique style bed and breakfast on the Jersey Shore, look no further, because there is a place waiting for you like no other! The owners, Marty and Joyce, have put their hearts and souls into making the Saltwater Inn a gorgeous, peaceful and very special place to relax. Everything about the Saltwater Inn, including the name, to the beautiful rooms that are so perfectly decorated, is one of a kind. Joyce is without a doubt, one of the most talented individuals we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We are sisters who vacationed there for the Columbus Day weekend, and hope the following helps you get an idea of what this place is all about:

Location—2 blocks from the beautiful Jersey Shore. You might even catch Marty walking to or from his daily surfing excursion in his wetsuit, and his surf board in hand! Also, just a few blocks from the center of town.

Breakfast—Wow!! Joyce rocks her kitchen each morning, putting together the most luscious creations such as pumpkin waffles, quiche, roasted peppers, sausage and apples on skewers and delectable breakfast desserts, to name just a few. She has her own garden, and she changes the menu seasonally so she can use only the freshest ingredients. All meals are of the highest restaurant quality and served with love.

Rooms—Each room is impeccably decorated in high style by Joyce. Everything is new. The bathrooms all have high end tile floors, granite countertops, gorgeous mirrors, unique lighting and freshly washed beautiful towels. The wood floors are so clean and inviting. The Saltwater Inn does not have wall to wall carpeting, thank goodness, and suntan sprays are not allowed to be applied in the rooms. This is such a smart move, and should appeal to those who have allergies or are sensitive to chemicals.

Lobby/Entrance—Perfection. Soft, classical music greets you upon entering. Take time to check out all of the furnishings, window treatments and decorations. You will love it all.

Marty and Joyce, the owners—This couple is perfectly suited for being the proprietors of the Saltwater Inn. The entire place is their vision, and they are there to make your stay a memorable one. You will be well taken care of, and will leave knowing you experienced something special. With all their talents, they are so humble. What they have put together is a gift, and they love nothing more than to share it with you—don’t miss out!

Room Tip: Traveling with several family members? Not a problem--there is a Family Suite just for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebOneWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Salt Water Inn for our ten year anniversary this past August. I highly recommend this establishment. Marty and Joyce (the proprietors) are tremendous. They went out of their way to make sure little details were taken care of. The rooms were clean and well appointed. We had a wonderful weekend and it turned out to be a much needed re-connection as husband and wife. And by the way, the breakfast was superb as well. We intend to return. If there was one point of constructive criticism I would like to make, it would be to have some sound deadening floor covering or wall panels in the third floor corridors for when the stairwell door opens and closes. But truly....our experience was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

If your expectations are a needed get a way B&B that provides the opportunity to sit back (or lay down) and take a deep breath, this place is for you. The atmosphere is almost spa like, very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are very clean and tastefully done. The bed was incredibly comfortable and bathrooms sparkle. The owners, Marty and Joyce, understand why you are there and why they are there. Genuine, consistent service with a smile. The waffles and sausage at breakfast were awesome. Plenty of coffee. We were thankful the SI seems to be geared for adults who want to take a restful time out from Plan A. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nothingizeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
0.2 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmar
41 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
678 reviews
2 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tandem Bike Inn
Tandem Bike Inn
#2 of 7 in Belmar
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Morning Dove Inn
Morning Dove Inn
#5 of 7 in Belmar
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Inn

Address: 300 10th Ave, Belmar, NJ
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range: £112 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SaltWater Inn is New Jersey's Award Winning bed and breakfast in Belmar's charming north end. Each of our 8 suites has a private bathroom and 1 family suite with 1 1/2 bathrooms. During your stay you will experience a Tempurpedic cloud supreme mattresses, WIFI, central heat and AC, massages, beach badges and a gourmet style breakfast. Enjoy our outdoor bistro patio dining and rocking chairs on our cozy wrap-around porch. We will distinguish ourselves by providing a boutique hotel experience to cater to your every need. We are 2 short blocks to the beach and down the block from the NJ Transit train station and on the route of the EZ ride. We are close to the boardwalk, lake, shopping, restaurants, the marina and nightlife. Let us make your experience a memorable one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltwater Inn New Jersey/Belmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing