We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!!”
Review of Belmar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmar Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel was the worst I have ever stepped foot in. It smelled, was dumpy and just overall a pit. We reserved a room with 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa because we had 5 people in our group. We got there and they told us they only had a room with 2 beds. We told them that was not what we reserved or paid for and they said that was all they had but they could give us an air mattress. Really??? Finally got into our room and it was so small that there was no room on the floor for an air mattress. When we went to the front desk and asked the girl where the air mattress should go, she shrugged her shoulders. We arrived in New Jersey at 11:00 am ready to spend a nice day with friends....that didn't happen since we were on the phone until 4:00 pm between Hotels.com and trying to find a new place to stay. Thank god somebody that heard what was going on came over to us to tell us about a place that rented out cottages. Cost us twice the amount of money but it was worth it to get out of that hell hole!!! Only thing good about it was you could walk to the beach. Again, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kauffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    14
    42
See reviews for
17
18
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Please do not go here. My friends and I were supposed to stay here for the Bamboozle festival this past weekend. We were supposed to have a room with two beds and a pullout couch. They said they didn't have the pullout couch and they would put an air mattress in there...NOT! When we first walked into the lobby it smelled of urine. The bathroom for the main area was filthy with mold and dirt and it had no soap or paper towels...ewwwww So my friend was on the phone for 4 hours trying to find another place-nothing around because of the festival. so we said lets just suck it up for the 2 nights. Yea well we went to the room which was on the first floor in a dark stinky hallway with no lights(probably so you couldn't see the filth). We opened the door and one of the beds was right there and the other bed was about a foot away from that one(if that). There was absolutely no room for any size air mattress. But it didn't matter because there was no way we were going to stay here. It was dirty, stinky, and you could see how the quilts were filthy. We literally walked in and out without our bags touching anything. We had read that there were bedbugs in the past but they told us that it had all been redone and new mattresses. I would like to know where these new mattresses were. Anyways we were on the phone for another hour when someone that was on the porch mentioned a place with a few cottages. So we got one! It was a lot more money but so worth it! Don't let the online pictures fool you! Oh and we were not the only unhappy people. we heard quite a few others complaining. I hope this will save you the trouble and upset stomach. The only thing this place had that was good was it was close to the ocean. I would rather sleep on the beach and be taken out with the tides

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belmar hotels

Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed at the Belmar Inn for one night at the shore. The location to the beach is the best part of this place. The room was spacious enough with 2 double beds in a seperate room and a pullout couch. But the room was diry when we checked in. The left the pullout couch open and when we put it back together, the floor underneath was stained and littered with garbage. Air conditioner was a tiny window unit BUT did work after we turned it on. Bathroom was also dirty and water pressure was a mere trickle. Also the toliet didnt flush so when we went to dinner we asked them to fix it. We got back and it was fixed but then broke again in the morning. Downstairs in the reception there were piles upon piles of dirty linens that needed to be washed. Also, lady at reception was asleep on one of the couches when we tried to check out. She didn't wake up when we tried talking to her so we just left our room keys there. Lots of young kids hang out outside on the porch at night....you have to walk around them to get into the the hotel. I wouldn't take my family there. Parking is on the street, they dont have a lot, but we didn't have a problem finding a spot early in the morning and after dinner. All in all, the place was pretty much a dump but i guess thats what you get for 89 dollars. I think next time I'd pay a little more for a nicer place. Didn't see any bed bugs.....

Room Tip: During the week, any room is 89 dollars, get the biggest one- 2 queen beds with a pullout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nmv87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Although service is not Four star hotel style , there is nothing better in Belmar for this price range. Remember this is a beach town and you will get rowdy college kids in the summer. The staff was always kind and courteous to me and my wife . I especially enjoyed the free buffet style breakfast on the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firstrtimehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I don't think there's really more to say, if you've read the news you know how easy they are to catch and how impossible to get rid of. We got lucky that one of my friends saw one as another switched on the light to wash her face. Once the light was on though, it was clearly a bedbugs party. We left.

This is such a secondary point it's almost not worth mentioning, after we told the manager about the bugs, he only wanted to refund one of our 2 rooms. Was petty, since our group was clearly together. He refunded both only after a discussion.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank jnnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

we booked the room on a July 4th weekend in Belmar inn, we enjoyed our stayed there, we stayed for 3 nights and each night was a different experience . i was there with 3 of my friends we had a amazing time at the inn. the rooms are very clean and they also clean our rooms everyday.They have the best location close to the bar djais that we loved and right across from the ocean. they also have dunkin donuts free breakfast at the inn to cure our hang over)). i would recommend this place to everyone its perfect to for everybody who wants to have a nice time in Belmar . we are also going there for the labor day weekend. see you there....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sixpence_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

I stayed at Belmar Inn for couple of months during the summer period. I was with my friend.We came as international students.We had no problems with getting a room(although we didnt have any reservation).And it wasnt expensive at all. The management was really nice and friendly to us and helped us a lot on getting information on surrounding area.The room that we stayed in was clean.There was free Wi-Fi to our pleasure.)))Overall we are planning to stay in this hotel this summer as well.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InterStudent4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
3.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tandem Bike Inn
Tandem Bike Inn
#2 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Inn

Property: Belmar Inn
Address: 112 12th Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2414
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Belmar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belmar Inn hopes to recapture the past grandeur of the turn of the century when service was king and the many outstanding small hotels provide gracious attentive services to guests. All we're missing is the wishing well, but give us time. No minimum nights to stay. The most affordable hotel to stay in Belmar. Conveniently located half a block away from the beach. Private bathrooms, air conditioned and smoke-free rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Belmar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmar Hotel Belmar
Belmar Inn New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing