We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross Gross Gross”
Review of Belmar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmar Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
new york
1 review
“Gross Gross Gross”
Reviewed 6 August 2007

All I can say is this place is gross!!!
The place is nothing like the website and my friends and I couldn't even stay there because the hotel was SO dirty.
We walked in and there is a stale musty scent to the place, especialy the rooms.
We got to our room, 3 floors up with no elevator, to find dead bugs on the floor in our bathroom, old dirty socks in the closet from the previous guest and hair on the sheets.
We called the front desk and they finally came up to change the sheets and guess what??? There was hair on the new sheets too!!!!
This place is disgusting, should not be charging over $200 a night and should be shut down by the NJ Health Department.
The only positive comment I have is that they refunded my money without a big fight.

  • Liked — That they refunded my money when we left
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank seeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    4
    14
    46
See reviews for
18
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel in the beggining of July. Let me tell you it wasnt very pleasent. The most amazing part of it, is that the hotel from the outside looks Great!! When you walk in it just has this nasty smell to it which definitly turned me off right away. As we went upstairs to the room it gets much much worse. The place really is NASTY. We had to get all new sheets because apparantly they were not changed or clean to begin with!!! There were hairs on our bed.... the blankets were old and scuzzy. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a year. Stains all over the walls. Then to top it off we had brought some bread to make sandwiches with and mice got into the bag!! There are mice in the room!!! It is really ashame because Belmar is a beautiful area and people think there going to a decent hotel and it is definitly far from that! People really need to know that this place is absolutly disgusting and not worth the money at all.

  • Liked — Location and that was it
  • Disliked — Not clean at all and mice in the room!!!!!! Stay away
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carisa32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessicasmith, owner/manager at Belmar Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2007
I am sorry for your experience but we really do not recall this matter.we never had mice problem in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belmar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2007

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed. We paid over $400 for two nights for a room that was to accommodate 4 people. It really was a triple as the pull out couch was the size of a twin bed and probably smaller. This is only for one person. In reality this is not a bed. I would even let my dog sleep on it. The blood stained mattress was paper thin and burns made from cigarettes. I would have slept on the floor but I didn't want to be close to the dirty carpet. The sheets and towels were worn and had holes. We had to ask for new ones each day. The bathroom was so scary. I wore my flip flops in the tiny shower as NOT to touch the filthy floor. Mold, mildew and unidentifiable stains were all over the sink, shower and floor. To me, the place looked like run down crack house! Don't stay here. The only thing that worked was the A/C and that it is close to the beach. But don't let this fool you. Stay somewhere else. Also, check out time is 11am. For every hour after that, there is a $10.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmarinn, owner/manager at Belmar Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2007
I am sorry the way you felt about it .but the room that sleeps 4 people is 2 double beds or king bed with pull out sofa.The room costs $209+tax per night which comes to $476 and change with tax for 2 nights. you had a room with king bed with pull out sofa for 4 people and i can assure you that you can comfortably sleep 4 people in there. We just bought the beds 2 years ago. Anyone who reads this review can check anytime that our bathrooms does not have any of these things that is wrote by our guest. The Check inn and check out time are fixed if you stay more you pay more. i guess some people does not want to pay for the services that they want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We reserved rooms at the inn for its proximity to the beach - seemed like the perfect location. We got into our room and the bathroom had not been cleaned after its previous guest -- there was hair from someone shaving stuck in the gunk all over the sink. The toilet wouldn't flush and the towels were outrageously dirty. A woman in our group thinks she saw a drug deal occur on the front steps. And we checked out early because there were mice running around our room!! Absolutely disgusting. I can't believe this place is still open.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank DenverBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmarinn, owner/manager at Belmar Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2007
I am sorry about the way you felt about our place but we do not have mice's in our hotel. And the people who stays here they pay lots of money to come here so i don't thing there was a drug deal going on in the hotel.If you had this many problems then you should have told front desk to change your room. I guess some people wants to stay in the hotel and don't pay for it thats why they come up with all these excuses, then these people asks for refund. This is outrageous i can't believe there are people like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2007

There is no private parking. Must look for a parallel spot on the street which is nearly impossible in summer season. The building is older and the rooms show it. Rooms are very small and dingy. The mattress was lumpy, bathroom was very old and not very clean. A lot of dust everywhere. Carpet and bedspread were newish. The partying crowd came in after the bars closed at 2:00 a.m. and were out-of-control. Management needs to control this. Three story hotel with no elevators. No clock in the room, no cups given in the bathroom. The location is very close to the beach, which is nice. Staff were very friendly. Could be a great place if cleaned up and manage the clientel better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise at night and lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmarinn, owner at Belmar Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2007
I understand about the parking. In the town 80% of places don’t have parking. The building is old but the rooms are just renovated in 2004.We never had complaints regarding that before. We have 5 types of rooms, from smaller to bigger. You get what you pay for. Belmar town itself is the town of nightlife so being close to beach and night life you don’t expect any other type of crowd. We bought new mattress and showers in 2004 as we renovated. We never had dust complaint before. Its just 2 small staircase to 3rd floor. We are running this Inn from 3 years and we control it as much as we can. We are not correction officers. As per our other reviews this is great place to stay by the shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Its a very nice place to stay and is the only place who has private bathrooms.It has very nice location and its a clean place.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank roby1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2004

Although this place does resemble a dorm more than a hotel - the room was not as bad as some of the other reviewers have described. We didn't experience any noise the week we stayed. In fact, for a few nights I think we had the entire floor to ourselves! There were signs posted everywhere about noise so it may be a problem on weekends. The problems that I encountered involved room service. We had to replenish our own sheets and towels and in the entire 7 days we were there, the room was never vacuumed and the trash was never picked up. We had to bring our trash and linens downstairs on a daily basis. Basically it seems there is no cleaning crew on weekdays. The building has a lot of potential and the staff was pleasant. Would I stay at the Belmar Inn again? Not likely but if I was in a bind, it was tolerable and the 1/2 to the beach location was perfect.

Helpful?
6 Thank Cmp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
3.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,369 reviews
3.1 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
295 reviews
2.2 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atlantic Inn & Suites
Atlantic Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Wall Township
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Inn

Property: Belmar Inn
Address: 112 12th Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2414
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Belmar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belmar Inn hopes to recapture the past grandeur of the turn of the century when service was king and the many outstanding small hotels provide gracious attentive services to guests. All we're missing is the wishing well, but give us time. No minimum nights to stay. The most affordable hotel to stay in Belmar. Conveniently located half a block away from the beach. Private bathrooms, air conditioned and smoke-free rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Belmar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmar Hotel Belmar
Belmar Inn New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing