We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steaks!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCann's Steer & Spirits

McCann's Steer & Spirits
Ranked #40 of 103 Restaurants in Belmar
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I met up with one of his clients here, at their recommendation. The place certainly didn't disappoint. We were told the steaks were the way to go, and they were right. We had the steak jardire which was topped with spinach, mushrooms and a bearnaise sauce, and by was it delish!!! As a side we ordered the sicilian potatoes, which are sliced and topped with parmesan and garlic...yum! The food was definitely delicious. The service, however, leaves a lot to be desired, though we were told that our waiter was new. He neglected to bring our salads until our meal was served, I would've like to have it first. The manager, however, was made aware of this at the end of our meal and apologized and offered us a round of drinks, which I thought was very nice. Speaking of drinks, they need a better variety of light beers, miller lite and bud lite, blech!

This place is worth the trip and we will definitely be returning :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Tasty Pub Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great spot for a beer and sandwich. Very tasty, very friendly, good service and over all a pleasant place. The grill and sandwich board are in the front and you can play pool or watch one of many flat screens. Park on the street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susiesci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar N.J.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the Best Kept Secrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

stopped by for dinner this week, as we often came by before it was remodeled. As we had heard from others as well, this is the place for steaks, and steak sandwiches. We ordered our steak sandwiches, and the owner personally cooks them. They were excellent, and my fiance, who is very picky about her meat was most impressed with the cut used. Definitely a local place, sports on multiple screens, and a couple of pool tables in the back. You won't be dissappointed. We had planned on getting ice-cream after, but squashed those plans after the meal we had at McCann's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jpendejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An unexpected nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stopped casually on a rainy day of October 2013 (11th) on our way back to NYC. The place was very informal and typical. But the real pleasant surprise was the food ! A tall and broad guy cooked freshly some delicious and incredibly huge dishes. Potato skins, onions rings, club sandwich and a half-a-cow size hamburger, which not even that insatiable 18-yr boy that's my son could finish. We dearly hope to be back in NJ soon (we are from Italy) to have the chance to come back to this excellent diner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank buona_forchetta_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, relaxed local bar feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We enjoy coming by, the burgers and Steaks are excellent, cooked by Tom the owner right behind the bar. Friendly local bar feel. Recently renovated but hasn't lost its charm. If you are looking for casual beer/meat this is a great spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCann's Steer & Spirits also viewed

Belmar, Jersey Shore
 

Been to McCann's Steer & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing