We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn at the Shore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn At The Shore
Ranked #3 of 7 Belmar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Inn at the Shore is an incredible bed and breakfast within a short walking distance of the Belmar beach. The Inn is a warm, cozy, and inviting place to stay that makes you feel at home. The breakfast room is extremely welcoming with everything to tables, couches, and even a beautiful fish tank for your viewing pleasure, and the food is delicious! The Inn is owned by a wonderful couple named Tom and Rosemary Volker who are extremely kind and generous, always have a good story to tell, and will do anything possible to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. Every room creates a very homey feel with extremely comfortable beds. If you are looking for a place to stay in Belmar, there's no place like The Inn at the Shore!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
There are newer reviews for The Inn At The Shore
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was the 3rd year that Sue and I organized a reunion for Scotch Plains-Fanwood High. It is a multi year reunion that started as a party and has grown to a yearly gathering. Three years ago Tom and Rosemary were very helpful to our out of state guests, making it easy to secure a place to stay for this 3 day event. We were all thrilled with the accommodations, the breakfasts and the overall friendliness and comfort of the Inn. For this years event, the entire Inn was booked by Roar at the Shore guests (us). Yet another wonderful stay!! Not surprisingly the Inn at the Shore was booked for next years event within 24 hours of this years event ending! As a matter of fact, there is a waiting list for that weekend!! The warm and friendly atmosphere and hosts ( Tom & Rosemary) make the "Inn" a must stay!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice!!! Wrap around porch a plus!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Tom and Rosemary, the Inn's amazing inn keepers have done it again! Rich and I organize an annual high school reunion at Connolly Station in Belmar and found the Inn 3 years ago to accommodate us. We had an awesome time and this year the entire Inn was booked by reunion participants. Tom and Rosemary extend their hospitality and before we know it, the cozy wrap around porch, living room and dining room bustle with old friends chattering. The breakfasts are always delicious and Tom and Rosemary go above and beyond as our hosts! Within 24 hours of our departure this year, the Inn was completely booked by our friends for next year's reunion! That is an amazing testament of their 200% satisfaction! Some guests traveled from Italy, California, Pennsylvania and Arizona to join us and will be back again next year! Awesome spot for reunions, family get togethers, or a get away! Our time at the Inn is the talk of our SPF Roar at the Shore!

Room Tip: Everyone enjoyed their rooms!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to go to the shore for a 5 night getaway during 4th of July and we came across the great reviews about this B&B so we decided to book it.
Tom, the innkeeper, was very pleasant on the phone and helped us make the reservation. Upon arrival Rose - who is a very lovely lady - showed us our room. If you can, make sure to book a room with a private bathroom as we did. The Inn is very quiet and it offers a lot of history. Breakfast is included which is great - although we are not big on breakfast. All we wanted to do was walk 2 blocks to the beach and tan. The Inn is 4 blocks from main street and by the end of the week we had tried all the restaurants. Rose & Tom gave us two beach tags, towels, chairs and offered 2 bikes free of charge! It's really the small things that count and this B&B will definitely be our place to stay when we come back. We had to leave a day before our checkout for personal reasons and the innkeepers offered to credit one night on our next stay. They rock! Thank you for making this a very pleasant experience! Joanna & Ardit

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ to get a room with a private bathroom. Kelly Lynn is a good room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Tom & Rosemary are wonderful innkeepers! They luckily were able to take us in when another b&b messed up our reservations. Their Inn is beautiful & clean & close to the ocean. Tom makes the best french toast also! Definitely come here for a stay, you will be happy you did :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A couple of weeks ago, my husband and I were invited to a party in Belmar, NJ. We had never been there since we usually vacation at the South Jersey shorepoints and someone had recommended the Inn at the Shore. What a wonderful experience it turned out to be. We felt right at home from the moment we stepped through the door. We were greeted by the innkeepers, Tom and Rosemary, and from that point on we were treated like family. The rooms were spotless and extremely comfortable and each morning we were treated to a wonderful breakfast made by Tom himself. The location is great - only 2 blocks from the beach and boardwalk and in walking distance to the restaurants and shops. They also have lots of things at the Inn to keep you entertained if you don't feel like venturing out. It was truly a memorable trip and we will be returning in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A lovely bed and breakfast with the best host and hostess. Rooms are comfortable , breakfast was great. Location is within walking distance to the beach. Have been back many times. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
0.5 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmar
41 reviews
3.0 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,604 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
2.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Shore

Address: 301 4th Ave, Corner of 4th and B Street, Belmar, NJ 07719-2104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Belmar
Price Range: £87 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At The Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The free and easy feeling of a Jersey Shore getaway... from your rocker on our wide wraparound porch, the smell of sea salt in the air, the sounds of waves and gulls...the lightness and peace that come in a place that's distraction-free. Since 1880 The Inn At The Shore has been this special place for so many. Just two blocks from Belmar's beach and Boardwalk, and four blocks from Main Street and an eclectic, bustling downtown, The Inn At The Shore is a rare find: a bed and breakfast Inn owned and operated by lifelong hospitality professionals. New Innkeepers Bill and Linda Neely have brought new life and a classy vibe to Belmar's oldest Inn. The Great Room features bar seating, billiards, a big flat-screen TV over the fieldstone fireplace, and a wonderful music corner with piano, guitars and other instruments for the performer in all of us. The refurbished dining room features elegant seating indoors, with outdoor seating available on our Patio and Porch. Breakfast begins at 7:00am with a Continental buffet, then starting at 8am through 10:30am Chef Bill will try to make all your breakfast dreams come true with a you-name-it, cooked-to-order breakfast prepared exactly the way you like it. And, Bill always has a unique breakfast specialty up his sleeve if you're one who likes surprises! As the Neelys continue to revitalize The Inn At The Shore, look for exciting Event Packages highlighting the best that Belmar has to offer throughout the year. Bill & Linda are creating a new kind of B&B experience, and they invite you to come and see what The Inn At The Shore and beautiful Belmar are all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn At The Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Shore Belmar Hotel Belmar
The Inn At The Shore New Jersey/Belmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing