We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and creepy”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belmar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmar
West Point, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old and creepy”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Me and my husband was being spontaneous and drove to the area on a Saturday, we liked the area so much and decided ti stay for the night. The hotel had an old school look to it, so we chose to experiment for one night. Shame on us for doing it without planning. Sure it's cheaper, but we got what we paid for. The hotel smelled moldy, the floor creaked, so was the bed. The wall paper was old, and we discovered the wall behind the paper was actually foam board.
There were several holes punched into the wall, and was covered by decor instead of being fixed. I laid in the bed at night, was actually fearing something might creep out in the middle of the night. The one and only plus side is our window faces the ocean. It's just unfair to think that we are paying for regular hotel price and yet the hotel owner don't even have the decency to fix the hole on the wall, and the overwhelming molded funk within the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chyna315us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    4
    2
    11
See reviews for
4
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I first stayed at the Mayfair back in the late 60s and early 70s.. this is not the Sheraton....It's better. If you want the old Jersey shore, this is the place. Some weird old architecture. Built in the 20s and hasn't changed. Woody Allen would love this place. If your looking for the old Jersey shore flavor, this is it. The beach is right across the the street. I cook dinner down stairs in a great kitchen open to everyone...fresh seafood everywhere to be had. Beach views and salt air coming through your windows. The staff is sooo accommodating to your needs, just ask Tony at the desk and you will not be disappointed. Don't miss this experience at the Jersey shore....

Room Tip: Second floor beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a family run property that we found accidentally 21 years ago. The bathrooms were added in in the closet space and may have a shag rug. The space is very funky....The kitchen is shared so you can bring your food or grocery shop and use the pots and pans as well as the plates, knives and glassware that is there. There are several nice spaces to serve in. There are adjacent suites that are great with a shared "normal bathroom". This town is mostly owner occupied and beachfront hotels are scarce. You can get modern by stepping back a few blocks but this place is like staying with family at a beach house and the price is right. It is not the Marriot, but it has it's advantages and a great pool! My kids Love it and so do I!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mghdi1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My friends and i checked in this morning to this creepy "hotel". As we went to the pool an old creepy guy was asking if he could judge the beauty contest. They then proceeded to watch us sunbathe. We left to go out to lunch and made sure to lock our rooms.(we all checked) when we got back one of our rooms was unlocked !! We were so nervous and started to get itchy. There was a shower in the middle of the bedroom! My friends family told us to never stay there. Finally we got so nervous we packed and left immediately, we went to another hotel and when the front desk asked us where we came from she was appalled. She told us no one ever should stay there it was awful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Megb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belmar hotels

Allenwood, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Mayfair hotel in Belmar, NJ is right on the beach. It offers ocean front rooms with amazing views. When you step out the front door you smell the ocean and feel the fun summer vibe of Belmar.

The place has an old school mellow feel. It was built in the 1920s. It is family owned. The staff is super friendly and helpful, including Joe, Tony, Dan, Joel, Duffy, Patty, Ken, and Jeanne. They are full of great information about the local area.

The Mayfair hotel has pretty rooms and is very clean. It is well monitored by the staff. The hotel is safe.


The Mayfair has a huge pool with lots of chaises for sunbathing. It also has a kitchen and refrigerators for guest who want to cook.

It is amazing to feel like you are in a historic building with the beach so close. There are restaurants, bars and fashion shops right on the boardwalk in front of the hotel and all up and down Ocean Ave. There is a 7-11 very close and also a Dunkin Donuts.

This is a beach lover's hotel. The views of the sunrises are incredible from the garden room and the front rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Let me start by saying that if your going to stay at the Mayfair then you got to put in mind the hotel was built in the 1920"s and your not going to be staying at the Ritz Carlton. The hotel is being upgraded slowly the pool has been re-done and the painting of the Mayfair is in progress but still not finish . when you walk into the Mayfair your going to be welcome like you are part of the family not like any hotel you stay at . , , and all the people who work at the hotel are very friendly. anyhow the way I found this hotel was I was sitting at the table at the seafood fest and this man came up and ask if we wouldn't mind if he can sit at out our table so I told him it was ok , anyhow we start a conversation and it ended up talking about if he new a place that we can stay for a couple night and that is very friendly so he suggested that we stay at the Mayfair on 10th Ave were he is living for the last 7 months coming from FL and ended up doing work there . this gentlemen name was Steve and a very nice young man , he started to tell us about the place and how old it was and that we really should go look at it and give it a try he told me the place was own by a little ole lady name pat and ken and that everyone that works there is very nice a friendly even the housekeepers, he explain to us how the most of the rooms are set up so I look at my wife and said to her I think we need to go see it and she told me exact words were are you insane anyhow went and look at the rooms and to my surprise my wife said to me lets stay here , so we stayed 2 night and I got to tell you it was the best 2 night stay at the Mayfair I ever had thanks to all the folks that work there and I plan to come back soon. . so i tell people who are planning to stay at the Mayfair go stay and experience the homey place and friendly atmosfair...


coodo's to Steve B thank you very much for telling us about the place, and god bless you I hope to see you there when we come back ...thanks john and cindy

Room Tip: Stay at the Mayfair you be happy ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

wow, this hotel is right out of the past. if you were looking for an experience never forgotten stay here. the eccentricity is beautiful, tons of furniture, a kitchen for everyone to use, with refrigerators, stoves, a big eating area facing the ocean across the street. it certainly isn't a Marriott, but it also isn't sterile and unfriendly. all of the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. the beach is right across the street, right out the front door. they have a huge swimming pool, something you dont see at the beach. the rooms are quite unusual, decorated more like a B&B than a hotel, each room has a refrigerator, the baths are private, with a sink in the room. the price couldn't be beat, no place on the ocean is this inexpensive. Yes, you give up the newness of a chain, but you gain in it's originality. this hotel will not last much longer, someone with millions of dollars will buy it up and turn it into a boutique hotel at 5 times the cost. go while you can it is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: visit the hotel before it is gone, not many like this left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w0rld0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
3.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
3.4 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tandem Bike Inn
Tandem Bike Inn
#2 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 1000 Ocean Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2397
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Belmar
Mayfair Hotel New Jersey/Belmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing