We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little place, right on the beach!”
Review of Mayfair Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belmar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayfair Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmar
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice little place, right on the beach!”
Reviewed 1 December 2006

The building itself might be a little old, and the rooms a little compact, but great value!

The hotel is right across the street from the beach! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The prices were decent and it's close to restaurants, an awesome club (can't remember the name), convenience store, etc.

We're considering going back in 2007!

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Small common room with shower right next to bed, toilet in separate bathroom with the sink in the opposite corner of the room.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you're up for it, hit up the club just down the street on a Saturday night...great times!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank voltamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    4
    2
    11
See reviews for
4
10
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2006

I stayed at the Mayfair Hotel and i thought it was one of the nicest hotels i've ever stayed in on the Jersey Shore. The staff was excellent. Especially the woman Alex who greeted me at the front desk when i arrived. The view was amazing .. Belmar really does have the nicest beaches on the coast. I cant wait till next summer to spend my days hanging out by the pool of the Mayfair Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2006

I stayed at the Mayfair and thought it was a nice place. It is typical in style and age for the New Jersey shore... it's a sweet old place. I don't know of any Holiday INN styled places right on the beach... which I guess some people expect. I loved my few days at the Mayfair and plan on going back

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank vanillafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2006

This place is absolutely disgusting - do not ever come here. The hotel is horrible, smells bad, the rooms are old and the whole place looks like it may fall down at any time. Jeannie who organises the bookings is the rudest woman I have ever met. We were originally booked in for 5 nights but only stayed for 2 and only because we had no where else to go. I wouldn't even say Belmar as a place is that great. My advice, do not ever come to this hotel - sleep on the beach if you have to instead. Trust me, it's far nicer. This is quite frankly the worst hotel I have ever experienced in my life - it's like a shelter for the homeless. We also got no refund on the nights we didn't stay there - quite frankly they need the money more than I did.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything - the smell was the worst
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not ever go there
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank BD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belmar hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 June 2006

This was the absolute worst place I have stayed at. For $175 a night, the place is a dump. When you walk in, you feel like you have entered a haunted house from the 50's and it smells like mothballs. The staff is RUDE RUDE RUDE. You have to put a $5 deposit for one key like you want to steal it! Even worse, you get in the room to find out the "private bath" you were promised is actually a shower that is in the bedroom! You can jump out of the shower and jump right into bed! The toilet is in a tiny alcove which is thank god closed off from the rest of the room. Not to mention the beds were like sleeping on a boxspring, the carpet was about 100 yrs old with stains and there was plywood projecting inward from the window which was the most bizzare of all. To top it all off, the maids stole a $100 from one our luggages (or if it wasn't the maid it was the rude woman at the front desk), we blew a fuse every time we blow dryed our hair and the cable went out! The only good thing about this place was the location although it was quite embarrasing walking out of the hotel b/c the building looked like it was about to collapse. I have no problem staying in cheap hotels with few amenities but this was far worse then I could have ever imagined. I could have dealt with a crappy hotel with a good location had the staff been friendly but they had the worst customer service of all time. You are much better off staying at the Belmar Inn a few blocks away. Friends of ours stayed there and the staff there was very helpful and you actuallly have a real bathroom that is not an extension of the bedroom! It is not luxury but it is a palace compared to the Mayfair!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2005

Even though my partner developed flu on arrival and had to stay in bed for 2 days, both the Manager and staff were most helpful.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmar
3.0 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.4 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tandem Bike Inn
Tandem Bike Inn
#2 of 7 in Belmar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel

Property: Mayfair Hotel
Address: 1000 Ocean Ave, Belmar, NJ 07719-2397
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Belmar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Belmar
Mayfair Hotel New Jersey/Belmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing