We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to Love it til we last went in June..... Will give it another chance”
Review of Red Wolfe Inn

Red Wolfe Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Belvidere
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
washington, nj
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Used to Love it til we last went in June..... Will give it another chance”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We have been here a few times and almost always have a great experience. This is a hole in the wall kind of lace but very good food (NORMALLY). Our last time however was less then normal. They had a special salad dressing only one chef makes and they were out of it on a friday night ????? bizarre ??? They also had alot of items on the menu but alot of it was not available. I am not sure if the food delivery wasnt it yet or what but they need to watch that. Another thing was that the food quality was off then normal.. I hope they didnt change chefs in the past few months. Things were very different. Not in a good way. I will give it another try but if it is like it was the last time we went then we will not go back. Strike 3 shame on me- Staff is ok.. They need to focus on the customers more and less on the gossip between themselves.
One last thing I will say .. The wolves in the back need their pens cleaned ! What a disgrace to see them living in their fecal matter and not groomed !! Who over owns them should be ashamed on themselves for keeping then that way. If you cannot properly care for the animal give it to someone that can. This is very upsetting to animal lovers !
Will keep you posted

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great steak”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

You wouldnt think it was a great steak place by the outside of the building but WOW. It was really something else. If in town check it out!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Mts. Pa.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Phenomenal N.Y. Strips!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

They definitely have one of the best NY strip steaks I have ever had, and we have eaten at a lot of so called high end steak places. Its not a 5 star restaurant, but is kinda cool looking inside, and low lighting levels to add to the ambiance. You can also eat at the bar, which is convenient, since it can get crowded. Make reservations if you can on weekends. Good selection of beers on tap, and in bottles.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Get There Early”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We have been to Red Wolfe many times in the past and never understood the negative reviews. Usually arrive before 6:30 but this time we got there at 7:45 and now we know. They were out of specials, most appetizers and patience. The staff was busy cleaning up and not serving. It took 15 minutes to get our drinks ordered. Appetizers arrived with half of the entrees, the other entrees came 15 minutes later. Two hours here and the place was empty. We never experienced this type of service here before and were very surprised and disappointed. Lesson - make reservations and get there before 6:30. However, it's still the best steak in NW NJ.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldstyle_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,331 reviews
1,150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Search this place out and you will be rewarded”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

If you like good draft beer and good steak, and are not too interested in fancy setting, this place is for you. Do not be put-off by the outside appearance - inside is very cozy and comfortable. I tasted ribs and steaks. Ribs were ok - too smothered in sauce. For sure, steaks are the reason to come here. And, having 20+ beers on tap is another. Service just enough and friendly. Prices not cheap - but neither are the cuts of meat! - good value.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Wolfe Inn also viewed

 

Been to Red Wolfe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing