We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every detail covered...almost”
Review of Bernards Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bernards Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bernardsville
Certificate of Excellence
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Every detail covered...almost”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I just spent a night at the Bernards Inn and dined at the restaurant to celebrate my birthday. We chose the package that included the 6-course tasting meal and booked online. Even though there was a wedding in the hotel, we were able to book a small suite that was well-appointed with historic art and beautiful linens. The walls could use a fresh coat of paint and the carpet needs a cleaning, but we were comfortable and well-served. Absolutely every employee we encountered at the inn was top-notch; we've stayed at some beautiful properties and the Bernards Inn staff is unparalleled. Dinner was out of this world and the wait staff was well-informed and professional. Breakfast was delicious and we were able to take our time on a Sunday morning. The only disappointment was that the staff did not recognize my birthday, despite asking us a number of times if we were visiting for a special occasion. I wasn't looking for singing waiters, but when you are asked by the hotel, and you see other birthdays celebrated by the staff, an expectation was set but not met.

Even so, we had a very nice evening and will look back fondly on an extraordinary meal in a romantic setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    20
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
36
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I'm going to have to find more excuses to make my way to Bernardsville - because my stay at this fantastic hotel was absolutely memorable and worth the trip alone. Set up like a stately mansion, complete with roaring fireplace in the lobby and gorgeous dark wood accents, I felt like I was being pampered and treated royally the moment I set foot inside.

Each room is unique and wonderfully comfortable, sporting massive beds, stylish bathrooms and plenty of storage space. Take a peek in their wine cellar and wedding reception area even if you're just staying a day or two - they are not to be missed. Also, have a meal in the adjacent restaurant - I mean really, the culinary delights offered there have to be the best around. Fresh blueberry sorbet was a highlight!

Staff was charming and helpful, always smiling and asking if I needed anything. Wifi is complimentary, as are bathroom amenities. Everything was perfect, right down to the turndown service with a little chocolate emblazoned with "B". Who does that anymore?! Such a treat to see a hotel take pride in what they offer their guests, it was refreshing, fun and classy.

Room Tip: I adored the "Mayfield"...saw the bridal suites too, so pretty and welcoming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Bernards Inn feels like a place out of a fairy tale or storybook. It provided the perfect backdrop for my brother's wedding, but even without such a celebration going on, it was the best hotel I ever stayed at. My room was comfortable and quaint, the staff was helpful and friendly. The food, for the most part, was ok. I loved the tea service in the lobby each morning. My biggest complaint was the street noise and the noise from another reception one evening. My room was on the front of the hotel on the second floor and must have also been above the reception room, because I was kept awake into the wee hours of the morning one night by car noise and boisterous revelers. Overall, though, I can't wait to plan my next visit to the Inn!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Overall, we were pleasantly surprise since we tend to favor more modern spa or hotel accommodations. The Inn is situated in "downtown" Bernardsville across from the train station with its parking lot on the main county road; not a country setting. Suggest you request a room away from the front of the building if you are sensitive to light and street noises. Mind you there's not a lot of traffic to begin with; the street noise and traffic was not an issue for us and we were on the front face of the building.

The good stuff; definitely the nicest B&B type (no free breakfast) establishment we've been. The Inn is period decorated. The foyer and lobby are very comfortable and welcoming with working fireplace. When we arrived, there was live music in the busy restaurant/bar just off the lobby. Our room (#12) was very richly decorated and well furnished. The large bathroom distinctly reminded me of Normandy's Hotel Churchill’s fine accommodations; just my own odd reflection upon the colors, tile and toilette layout. Room had wonderful original antique artwork and many period pieces. I looked and they're for real, pretty neat and worthy of any collection.

In summary, if you are in the tie-dye or mod crowd or can't appreciate old school, then this is not the place for you. On the other hand, if you want to step back in time in a richly appointed Inn and rub shoulders with the one percenters (while they are enjoying their charming, natural country club-like setting (and where the staff is most attentive), then you have most definitely arrived.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front of building would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerseyrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very nice hotel, very nice staff. Room (number 22) was a bit tired and the bed was awful, but the place was in general very cute. Decor in the room is fairly dated (really did remind me of my grandmother's house, down to the colors). The restaurant is very nice. I went shortly after Hurricane Sandy, booked last minute. I had a little trouble finding the place, but they were very helpful.

I was not there long enough to see much of the town, but it looked very cute.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

In trying to find a bit of luxury after Sandy, we made a reservation over the internet. They claimed - internet, great lodging and food. It was followed up with an Email confirmation. After making the trip fraught with downed wires and trees it was closed and had been when the reservation was accepted. Not at all pleased and was forced to try to make back up plans. Very poor service BUT it gets worse. They sent me an email thanking me for staying and hoped I had a great stay. Checking to make sure they did not fraudulently charge my credit card.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Very nice stay. Very Attentive staff. Nice from start to finish. Little out of way, but well worth it for attention shown. Will soon return. Oh, did I mention the food! Rooms recently renovated and it showed, very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstarstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernardsville
1.5 mi away
Dolce Basking Ridge
Dolce Basking Ridge
#1 of 4 in Basking Ridge
801 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,019 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Olde Mill Inn
The Olde Mill Inn
#2 of 4 in Basking Ridge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
788 reviews
12.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
670 reviews
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernards Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernards Inn

Property: Bernards Inn
Address: 27 Mine Brook Rd, Bernardsville, NJ 07924-2428
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Bernardsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bernardsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernards Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bernards Inn is a AAA Four-Diamond and Forbes Travel Guide Recommended award-winning hotel and restaurant featuring twenty beautifully appointed guestrooms along with a fine dining restaurant and over 5,500 square feet of private event space. The fine dining restaurant features progressive American cuisine prepared under the direction of Executive Chef Corey Heyer and complimented by an award-winning wine collection from Wine Director Terri Baldwin. The lovingly restored Inn combines Old World charm with stylish sophistication and modern luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bernards Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernards Hotel Bernardsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing