We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at a quiet landing strip”

Donna's Runway Cafe
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Blairstown
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food at a quiet landing strip”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

You can eat well at this small diner out at this rural landing strip for small planes. Service is quick and friendly. I recommend the burgers and BLT. The food is fresh, quickly made, and very tasty. The landing strip provides an unusual but quiet and oddly peaceful atmosphere, punctuated by the occasional small plane taking off or landing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank morr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great food, great service. My husband and I have breakfast here every time we visit my mom. Love it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianenkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, great prices, scenic spot”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent food at the cozy Blairstown airport. The place is packed since the new owner took over.....more seating, please! :0)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Find”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I came across this little restaurant tucked into the small Blairstown Airport while biking along the Paulinskill Valley Trail. We got to eat outside at picnic tables while watching small planes take off and land. The waitress was very friendly and did a wonderful job. The food was pretty tasty too, much better than I expected. Nothing too fancy, but seemed to be homemade. The prices couldn't be beat either.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique casual eating experience !!!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The "Runway Café" is an awesome way to start any day. The FOOD is great, the service is excellent and the price is True Value. Being a new resident of Blairstown, I believe the Café is truly a hidden gem. The small airport provides a unique ambiance and the neighborly feeling is hard to find elsewhere. Breakfast is my favorite and Lunch is truly very good.

Dining/Eating here is like sharing a meal at "Mom's Kitchen" . There are no strangers here ; folks often say "Hello" and "Goodmorning" with true kindness. I Love my favorite Café and "Jean" the owner, truly has a winning chemistry ; and "Kim" her daughter, round out the exceptional staff that manage the café. If you like great food , casual atmosphere and VERY reasonable pricing, then I suggest a trip to "Runway Café".

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russ w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donna's Runway Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Donna's Runway Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing