We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Moroccan food on the jersey shore”
Review of La Vie - CLOSED

La Vie
Price range: US$15 - US$29
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Bradley Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“French Moroccan food on the jersey shore”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

A gem down the jersey shore! We sometimes miss out of the typical ethnic restaurants available in northern NJ and NYC. As other reviewers have stated, the lamb tangine is delicious, and so is the chicken oasis, escargot and flavors middle eastern/french cuisine offers. It is possible to split meals because if you eat the wonderful appetizers, you will not have room left for dessert! The music and food was delightful, belly dancer engaging, and I hope they stay in business-try it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
1 review
“A surprise ... glad we tried it”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Nice to have something different from the standard tavern, italian, chinese food that is consistently mediocre and stuffs you until you are sick or have to go to sleep. Everything was very good to excellent. The lamb tangine was a delight. The brie appetizer with roasted cherries and other Moroccan touches was very tasty. For the quality the price was reasonable. A BYOB which I prefer so I can pick the right wine from home. The cute but demure belly dancer was a fun diversion. Just a short appearance. The only complaint was the arabic sounding music which was a little louder than it should have been and the singing was somewhat frenetic and distracting. Lower the volume or find some instrumental north African music instead please. Will absolutely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
339 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Moroccan food”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This new restaurant has excellent food. The lamb tajine is better than any I had in my two weeks in Morocco in April, with excellent flavor and a generous portion. The escargot appetizer was also excellent, as was the crab cake confit. The service was a little casual, but it was worth it, and I would definitely go back. BYOB, so you save money on drinks, and there is a liquor store on the same block.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeTheWorld4Peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
167 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great new place!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

It's great to have a Middle Eastern restaurant at the NJ Shore!! Great service, great food, and a terrific dancer. Staff was very attentive and helpful. I hope they succeed and are around for a long, long time!M

Helpful?
Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson
1 review
“A nice place where (for a change) everything tasted really good.”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our family ate here last night and while we’ve had French – we never had Moroccan French so we said “why not”.

We do not drink but this restaurant is a BYO (bring your own) type and the liquor store is 1 or 2 doors down which is convenient. The place is mid-sized, looks inviting from the window has a decent interior with soft seats (we like soft seats). Overall, I would describe it as semi-upscale and quaint with prices running around 15.00 to 23.00 from what I can remember.

The people were very friendly, but not overly friendly to a point of annoyance and the host (the owner) was very, very pleasant to speak with. Our waitress was friendly and accurate, but needs a little tweaking to rid herself of the slight “Sports Bar” or “Diner” groove and gentle things down a bit (tip – place plates on the table gently and not on the kids utensils). We overheard a waiter taking orders around us and he sounded and came off somewhat better for the atmosphere of the place.

I am not going to bother greatly detailing everything that came to our table but we had 2 appetizers, 1 soup, 1 salad and 4 entrees.

Everything that came to our table was delicious - the soup, appetizers, salad, brie and entrees were ALL delicious. The food was hot, the soup had actual chunks of shrimp in the bisque (rare) and the bread/oil starter was really tasty. There was nothing too strange our over seasoned and the meat was very tender and tasty.

15 minutes after seating, the owner approached us and explained that a “Belly Dancer” would be dancing around the restaurant and he wanted to know if our young girls might be offended and if so, he would instruct the dancer to stay away from our area. We explained that it was fine and that we would enjoy watching the dance and we noted that his considering our children was a very nice thing to do.

The dancer came out twice and did a really nice job. She walked around subtly in an “I dream of Jeanie” type outfit and did her moves as she passed by each table. We called her over for a quick chat and to have her say a few things to our girls who, on the spot, decided they want to be “Belly Dancers”.

All and all, it was a really nice place and a lot of fun. The owner explained that the restaurant had only recently opened and we wished him the best of luck - and we meant it. We will go back when in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoberDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing