We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value...but no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Budd Lake
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value...but no frills”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

It is a nice size room in a good location. Easy access to Routes 80, 46 & 206. Plenty of restaurant choices and retail near by. There is access to a Walmart, supermarkets & drugstores near by. I was traveling with my family and we needed to stock up so this was a pleasant surprise that everything was so close by. The room itself is a standard chain hotel room. It was clean so that is all we asked. I call this a great value because it was significantly cheaper then surrounding hotel options

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickBlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    11
    12
    15
See reviews for
40
10
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Front desk hard to understand. Forget about rig parking. DONT TAKE ANYTHING LONGER THAN A 40 ft TRAILER AROUND BACK. Corridors smelled like burnt fish. No front desk 11pm to 7 am. I can't believe in an "International Trade Zone" this place and the holiday inn exist as they do. In the area maybe try the Marriot. Haven't been there yet but can't be worse.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2dixiecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This review is late, but well deserved... My college girlfriend got married during Columbus Day weekend 2013 in Parsippany/Whippany. Everything was booked, except StayAmerica in Budd Lake. I made the reservations and booked promptly online.

Drove from DC to NJ, and was a bit tired. But check-in was smooth. The manager (pardon me, I forgot her name) was nice and efficient. Upon entering our room, we were surprised by the cleanliness and space (see pictures). Amenities and snacks were offered at the desk, and available in the room, as well as food menus. There is a Chilli's, Walmart, mini-mall, McDonald's, and Staples nearby.

The only complaint I have is the bottom of the tub. I know those stains are HARD to remove, and the tub was cleaned thoroughly. However, a re-glazing will remedy that. I have no other complaints.

My family and I were impressed and enjoyed our stay. If we're ever in the area again, we will stay here again. The layout was clean, and welcoming. Thank you to the staff for making our visit awesome!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I work in the PTAC industry and immediately removed the cover to the Packaged Terminal Air Conditioner (in the room I stayed in) and the amount of debris and filth hidden by the unit's cover was sheer negligence. As I did not pull out the unit it was impossible to view the underlying drainage pan - but I'm guessing it had a large amount of long standing moldy bacterial water in it. This can be very dangerous and harmful to any guest even for a one night stay - even worse for longer stays with children. As an informed guest it is also your responsibility to check the PTAC in every hotel room you stay in. Because you are the one who will be breathing in the contaminated air during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kleenGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The situation you described regarding the PTAC unit in your room is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I am going to talk to my Maintenance Engineer to ensure that he does a thorough cleaning of all of our PTAC units so we can provide more great stays our guests in the future.

I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please feel free to contact me directly, at mto@@extendedstay.com, with any additional comments or questions. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This "Hotwire secret deal" turned out very good, as most do. Son is buying a home in the area and we needed a central base to work from and this is a good location, nice, quiet, and clean with very good free secure WIFI. The "complementary" breakfast is packaged muffins and fruit which is ok, but the coffee is really good. FYI, as this is an extended stay, don't expect daily housekeeping but you can get all the towels you want, and making a bed is no big deal...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruckDriverFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Front Office Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our delicious coffee as well as our property's location. We thrive to impress our guests and accommodate them with all they need.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel frequently, and I must say the service here is wonderful. Kimberly has been very accommodating and even remembers me as a frequent guest, which is impressive due to the volume this hotel has. It is a great value and I will keep going back because it is clean, convenient, and the service is the best!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningH0telGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
The team and I appreciate your wonderful remarks. I am proud of our team for providing you with excellent service, especially Kimberly for acknowledging you every time you come to visit us. Our guests, just like yourself, are of utmost importance to us.

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I think this place is fair with their price. Their front desk are really nice and friendly. The grab and go breakfast is good but its just until 9.30 and I woke up late. Still one of the front desk was nice enough to give me some coffee and muffins. My room was very clean and I called the front desk to ask for a pizza # they immediately helped me (which was really nice). I don't know what the other comment is talking about because the breakfast was free and also there is not pool there, so how can they have it under maintenance if there isn't one. Well my experience in the hotel was overall good .. I would def. come back to this place if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoooo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write such an outstanding review. It's great to hear that our wonderful staff was able to help you and accommodate your needs. I am also pleased to hear that you found your room clean and enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budd Lake
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Budd Lake
Super 8 Budd Lake
#1 of 4 in Budd Lake
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Budd Lake
Days Inn Budd Lake
#4 of 4 in Budd Lake
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Budd Lake-Rockaway Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
8.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake

Property: Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
Address: 71 International Dr S, Budd Lake, NJ 07828-4400
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Budd Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Budd Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing