We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent Stay at The Lily Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lily Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lily Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Massachusetts
1 review
“Recent Stay at The Lily Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We recently returned (July 13) from the Lily Inn and I had to write this review. Gene and Murray are the consummate hosts. Their both historical and lovely home is truly a home away from home. Our beautiful room was on the top floor with every amenity you would want for both comfort and convenience. Breakfast was one of sustenance and simply delicious. I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful historic B&B in Burlington, NJ. I plan to stay there the next time we are in the area. Thanks for sharing your lovely home and making our journey one of comfort and happiness!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genie100, Owner at The Lily Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks ever so much for the kind word. Meeting you was more than a pleasure ..give smiley a hung for me, maybe she will smile ..HUGS to all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were recently in the area for a family funeral, and arrived, late evening, from the sunny southwest, to a gloomy landscape. Arriving on High St., the warm glow of the inn's light was lovely. Our innkeeper, host, and chief hugger, Murray, greeted us with a smile, a tour of the historic house, and a great history lesson about the area. The following morning brought no change in the rain, but a great breakfast looking out at the gardens, some thine to read the local paper, more fun conversation, and we were more than ready to face the day. Thanks, Murray and Genie!

Room Tip: Loved the third floor suite ! If one of you is an insomniac, there's a nice secluded place to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjohn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
son5050, Owner at The Lily Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hey Guys...

Thank you for the wonderful things you posted. As you know reviews are the life blood of or business... so thank you for the transfusion,

HUGS, Genie and Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at the Lily Inn on our trip from Virginia to Boston. It was the perfect midway point, and we were delighted with the Lily Inn. Our hosts made us feel completely at home. Murray and Gene seemed to have mastered the art of hospitality. Their Inn is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We spent time in the upstairs library as well as are tastefully appointed room. Burlington is a quiet town on the Delaware River, a peaceful place to be after hours on I-95.

Room Tip: The beds were exceptionally comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 111nancye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
son5050, Owner at The Lily Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hey there...

Thank you so much for the kind review .. we are honored by your thoughtfulness!

HUGS;
Murray, Genie and Harold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived on Burlington Day. A little fair by the river and lots of crafts/ shops/foods to eat. When we entered the Inn we were greeted very warmly by Murray. The inn is absolutely beautiful and charming. There was a harpist in the back garden. Amazing! The garden is beautiful and peaceful. Wonderful get away. Very old school romantic! Great choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MariaE442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genie100, Owner at The Lily Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for you wonderful review. We were privileged to have you stay with us.

Murray & Genie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stopped here on our way back to New York and home. Murray & Gene (Eugenia) are first class hosts, you will receive a very warm welcome and indeed a "Murray hug" into their beautiful home, also a history tour, fabulous. The decor is great, original wood floors and the bedroom is super, spacious, clean and the bed is to die for! Best nights sleep all trip. Breakfast was awesome, the French toast with maple syrup, what a delight. We felt like we were back home, with wonderful people taking care of us. Beware, if Murray sends you across the bridge to King George Inn, there is a toll!!! - only $2. Burlington is a historic place, sat on the Delaware river, very quaint with an interesting walk around. Nothing was too much trouble for them both and we hope one day to return. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodcop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genie100, Owner at The Lily Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were privileged to have you stay with us.

Murray & Genie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Head, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed with Murray and Gene (Eugenia) this past week en route north from the DC area. They welcomed us with open arms (literally--Murray has a plaque on the wall declaring him a "hugger"!) and we felt like we were catching up with old friends. The building was gorgeous--beautiful refurbished floors and decor, but it was the innkeepers that made all the difference. We traveled with our pre-teen son and our little dog and felt so comfortable that we allowed them to hang out in the living room the next morning while my husband and I took a quick jaunt through the antique shop down the road. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescenta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I visited the east coast from California and spent two wonderful nights at the Lily Inn.
Murray, Jean and Harold were wonderful hosts, we felt like old friends/family! This beautifully restored Inn was artfully decorated for the holiday season which made the visit even more special. We highly recommend Murray's French Toast for breakfast. You will be happy you chose to stay at the Lily Inn - we were!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
Hampton Inn Bordentown
#1 of 11 in Bordentown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lily Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lily Inn

Property: The Lily Inn
Address: 214 High St, Burlington, NJ 08016-4410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lily Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lily Inn is a small boutique bed and breakfast located one block from the Delaware River in the historic district of Burlington. This 300 years old Inn was extensively restored in 2008 and still retains it's original hardwood floors, five fireplaces, and 10' ceilings. The five large bedrooms are en suite, with four poster beds, ceiling fans, free internet service and premium beds. The Lily Inn is conveniently located near the NJ TPK, Interstates 95 & 295. The Inn is two blocks from the NJ River Line train station, with connections to Philadelphia and New York. Enjoy a brief respite while traveling or stay a day or two for a mini escape from your daily routine. Hugs are free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lily Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing