We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place for an Amazing Wedding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Califon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Califon B&B and Inns
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place for an Amazing Wedding”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

John, the innkeeper, is wonderful and makes you feel like family. Use of the inn is from Friday afternoon through Sunday, which includes the 5 rooms. I had our stylist come to us in the morning which was great with the fantastic breakfast John and his staff prepared. You can elect to have your rehearsal dinner on the grounds, which we did not. We also did not have our actual wedding ceremony there, as we wanted to be in a church. We had a tent put up and used the barn in our cocktail hour. Everyone loved the venue and the whole look. Nearest hotel for guests is Courtyard Marriott in Lebanon, who you can arrange shuttles with. Overall, the site is beautiful, and the staff is wonderful. Our pictures looked fabulous and the compliments on the classy yet relaxed feel of the venue keep coming months later!!!

Room Tip: Just be sure if you are using as a wedding venue that you ask LOTS of questions about charges and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavenGrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
28
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Tucked away and worth the stay! This beautiful B& B is tucked away, yet easy to find in the north eastern part of New Jersey. Late October offers spectacular beauty! Be sure to take note of the GPS directions and you will find the Raritan with ease. John, the inn keeper, will welcome you with a warm smile and a personal tour of his inn. Take in the history. This adds to the charm. The renovations preserve the rustic charm, yet, provide all the modern amenities anyone would want. Neat, clean, warm and cozy. We had the opportunity to attend a family wedding at the Raritan - the setting is perfect! The barn served as the reception hall and the ceremony was held down by the river. This place is truly memorable.

Room Tip: For a really special night, chose the room with the spa tub! The Warren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My mom, sister, and I stayed at the Raritan Inn for a special trip we took together and wanted a more unique experience by staying at a B&B. John the innkeeper was more than accommodating and made our stay really pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I never sleep well when Im on vacation but the beds were so comfortable and I slept so good! Breakfast was great every morning and we took the bikes they provide for a ride, so beautiful there, in the fall especially. I would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: im sure every room is great but we stayed in the sussex and the morris...both were nice
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently filmed scenes from a music video at the Raritan Inn. Both the service (the innkeeper was amazing) and the beauty of the inn and property exceeded our very high expectations. We’d highly recommend the Raritan Inn as a prospective filming location and for a restful stay in a picturesque setting.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaritanInnkeeper, General Manager at The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for allowing the Raritan Inn to be a part of making this amazing music video. I really enjoyed hearing the song and can't wait to see the final cut
All the best as Dustin makes his way as a country music star!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was lucky enough to stay at the Inn while we completed a habitat enhancement project on the section of the South Branch of the Raritan River that flows through the Inn's property. The restoration and enhancement to the river now matches the restoration of the property. The history, artifacts, and restoration of the Inn were incredible. We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and exploring the property during our off hours. We all agreed the most memorable thing of our stay was John the Innkeeper. He greeted us with a very welcoming smile that set us at ease for the remainder of our stay. John it was great getting to know you after work and listening to good old time country music. Thanks for everything(breakfasts, excavator operations, etc.) and if you ever want to escape to Montana you have my number.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaritanInnkeeper, Manager at The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Lance,
What a neat friendship that has developed! Even though the distance between Montana and New Jersey is great, you're always welcome to come back and sit on the back porch and listen to some down-home country music. Watch for me in Montana!
It was a pleasure to serve you and the rest of the guys!
Best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Relaxing long weekend for our honeymoon - caught up on some much needed rest, walked along the Columbia Trail to the Ken Lockwood Gorge, and went out to some local eateries. Each morning we rose to a wonderful breakfast feast - omelettes, french toast, and belgium waffles! We even enjoyed the beautiful picnic lunch which we arranged with the Inn - it was so nice to enjoy our own private lunch outside. Afterwards, we played a couple of games of horsheshoes and took a nap outside along the stream.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackandbellvacaydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaritanInnkeeper, Manager at The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your honeymoon - what an honor! I'm so glad you enjoyed the picnic with the lovely view from the barn. Perhaps we'll see you again on your anniversary!

Best,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdale, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My daughter found this wonderful B & B in Califon Nj that was amazing. We arrived on Friday and the place is magnificent. This is amazing being it had been abandon for over 20 years. The restoration they did gives each room it's own bathroom so no sharing which is great. The grounds are beautiful and there's an old barn that's also been restored, makes for a great dancefloor. the original house 1800"s house is in the basement and is set up as a game room, which was great fun for the Groomsmen and groom before the ceremony.
The owners have done a fine job of choosing a caretaker who makes you feel at home, John was there anytime we needed anything which made the Wedding setup fun and uneventful. There's plenty of parking being they have an adjoining field for event guests and the whole atmosphere was calming. The weather was great and we had a Bon fire and fun after the ceremony.
We used Redwoods in Chester to cater the event and I have to say the tasting like it came straight frm the restaurants kitchen. Jim the event manager was also a pleasure to deal with, his staff couldn't do enough for us. So if your throwing a party I'd highly recommend Redwoods and their catering staff. Thanks for making my daughters day complete!
Although I live in Jersey this is definitely a place I'd stay for a weekend with a change of pace! Thanks again John for all your help and great breakfast creation each morning, it felt like being at home rather then in a hotel.

Fred Juhls

Room Tip: There great, master suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fieems300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaritanInnkeeper, Manager at The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Fred,
What a true pleasure it was hosting you and your lovely family. It was obvious that you have a close-knit group and I was honored to be able to get to know you.
Please come back and stay here again. We will be sure to treat you right!

All the best to the new bride and groom.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Califon
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
164 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Hackettstown
70 reviews
12.5 mi away
HYATT house Branchburg
HYATT house Branchburg
#1 of 5 in Branchburg
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
549 reviews
3.2 mi away
Neighbour House Bed and Breakfast
12.8 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley

Property: The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley
Address: 528 County Road 513, Califon, NJ 07830-4020
Region: United States > New Jersey > Califon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Califon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4000-square-foot Victorian with a rich history located on 24 beautiful acres, nestled along the South Branch of the Raritan River. Five guest rooms, each with private bath and spa shower, satellite TV, wireless internet and four rooms have a parlor stove. Environmentally friendly and 100% energy self-sufficient. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raritan Inn At Middle Valley Hotel Califon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing