We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Vermont in Califon”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Califon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Califon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My wife and I planned a getaway weekend at the Raritan Inn and had a wonderful stay. It compared favorably to our many vacations in the New England area. John was a great host that provided for all or our needs and made a great country breakfast for us. I would highly recommend the Raritan Inn for a stay of any length.
Gene & JoAnn

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeneM202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I, along with four other couples, were at the Inn for a surprise 45th birthday party. The Inn keeper, John Bovill was an excellent host and tended to all of our needs. The stay was very memorable and I highly recommend the place. The Inn was recently updated and made the stay very comfortable. Despite the frigid overnight temperatures there was plenty of heat and hot water. No details were spared during the renovations. The crème brulé French toast in the morning was awesome.
I highly recommend a stay at the Raritan Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlNJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I felt very welcome by John, the Inn Keeper - all my needs were attended to in a profesionnal yet friendly manner - the inn itself was beautifully and artfully decorated with many antique items, including furniture - the food was delicious at breakfast time - I recommend bed & breakfast establishment to anyone wishing to be totally spoiled!!! Patricia Boynton - Fort Myers, Florida

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness center but I can't seem to get my evaluations removed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

John, the innkeeper, is wonderful and makes you feel like family. Use of the inn is from Friday afternoon through Sunday, which includes the 5 rooms. I had our stylist come to us in the morning which was great with the fantastic breakfast John and his staff prepared. You can elect to have your rehearsal dinner on the grounds, which we did not. We also did not have our actual wedding ceremony there, as we wanted to be in a church. We had a tent put up and used the barn in our cocktail hour. Everyone loved the venue and the whole look. Nearest hotel for guests is Courtyard Marriott in Lebanon, who you can arrange shuttles with. Overall, the site is beautiful, and the staff is wonderful. Our pictures looked fabulous and the compliments on the classy yet relaxed feel of the venue keep coming months later!!!

Room Tip: Just be sure if you are using as a wedding venue that you ask LOTS of questions about charges and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavenGrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Tucked away and worth the stay! This beautiful B& B is tucked away, yet easy to find in the north eastern part of New Jersey. Late October offers spectacular beauty! Be sure to take note of the GPS directions and you will find the Raritan with ease. John, the inn keeper, will welcome you with a warm smile and a personal tour of his inn. Take in the history. This adds to the charm. The renovations preserve the rustic charm, yet, provide all the modern amenities anyone would want. Neat, clean, warm and cozy. We had the opportunity to attend a family wedding at the Raritan - the setting is perfect! The barn served as the reception hall and the ceremony was held down by the river. This place is truly memorable.

Room Tip: For a really special night, chose the room with the spa tub! The Warren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

My mom, sister, and I stayed at the Raritan Inn for a special trip we took together and wanted a more unique experience by staying at a B&B. John the innkeeper was more than accommodating and made our stay really pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I never sleep well when Im on vacation but the beds were so comfortable and I slept so good! Breakfast was great every morning and we took the bikes they provide for a ride, so beautiful there, in the fall especially. I would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: im sure every room is great but we stayed in the sussex and the morris...both were nice
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank rachel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We recently filmed scenes from a music video at the Raritan Inn. Both the service (the innkeeper was amazing) and the beauty of the inn and property exceeded our very high expectations. We’d highly recommend the Raritan Inn as a prospective filming location and for a restful stay in a picturesque setting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaritanInnkeeper, General Manager at The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for allowing the Raritan Inn to be a part of making this amazing music video. I really enjoyed hearing the song and can't wait to see the final cut
All the best as Dustin makes his way as a country music star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Califon
9.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Clinton - Bridgewater
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Lebanon
Courtyard Lebanon
#1 of 1 in Lebanon
170 reviews
5.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Hackettstown
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Clinton
Hampton Inn Clinton
#1 of 2 in Clinton
573 reviews
3.2 mi away
Neighbour House Bed and Breakfast
12.8 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley

Address: 528 County Road 513, Califon, NJ 07830-4020
Region: United States > New Jersey > Califon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Califon
Price Range: £105 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4000-square-foot Victorian with a rich history located on 24 beautiful acres, nestled along the South Branch of the Raritan River. Five guest rooms, each with private bath and spa shower, satellite TV, wireless internet and four rooms have a parlor stove. Environmentally friendly and 100% energy self-sufficient. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Raritan Inn At Middle Valley Hotel Califon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing