We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Raritan Inn at Middle Valley
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Hackettstown)
US$108
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
70
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
3
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnb bbed and breakfasthomemade granolabusiness meetingnew jerseymarciaweddingpropertyfrigidretreatrenovationhostslinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2008

My husband and I went to the Raritan Inn as a gift from my boss for my work anniversary. We were delighted that the drive out to Califon was easy and scenic. We found this lovely restored Victorian house to be welcoming and warm. The Innkeeper, Margy, was equally welcoming and has amazing talents as tour guide, history docent and cook. Her homemade cookies were still warm when we arrived! Margy will also cook up a country breakfast you won't soon forget; ours was delicious and plentiful. The 5 bedrooms at this bed-and-breakfast are just lovely, with the 'Warren' being the larger of the rooms. All are beautiful. The details and furnishings are wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable and cozy, and all that geo-thermal
green air-conditioning stuff seems to work just fine. Out back of the Inn is the barn, which is used for larger parties, lots of land, and the river. We loved that the Long Valley Brew Pub was just down the road for a great dinner and that there were pick-your-own farms in the immediate area. You will be amazed when reading the renovation articles that are available at the Inn library, and even more shocked by the 'before' and 'after' photos. This is definitely a place we will visit again. Very beautiful and very relaxing. What a great country escape!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingJerseyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We chose The Raritan Inn for our wedding because it's only a little more than one hour from New York City; it's a beautiful, clean, historic bed and breakfast managed by a caring, great-cooking Innkeeper named Margy; it's surrounded by beautiful fields and streams, and it's more affordable to book the entire inn, barn and grounds that it is to just rent a space in most of New York City.

The inn and barn have a history dating back hundreds of years. The entire property has been renovated and updated, and in a very "green" fashion. Much of the electricity is generated with solar panels! It's the best of both worlds -- history and new, unobtrusive, green technology.

Margy the innkeeper is a great host, she'll do what she can to make your stay comfortable, according to you and your needs. She's also a great cook. Her breakfasts are delicious.

We were married in the field behind the barn, under some trees and next to a small stream. It was beautiful and romantic. Everyone at the wedding loved it, and they're still talking about it months later.

Booking the entire inn for your wedding is a great deal. You'll have the place to yourself and your family, and you can relax together at your own "home away from home." All this for less than it costs to set foot in most places in New York City.

The place seems like a bit of a secret at the moment, and we suspect that its wedding business will really take off once word gets out. We could go on and on about this place. We highly recommend The Raritan Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NYCnewlywed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

my brother just held his wedding at the raritan inn - and wow - i was amazed this place. it is so peaceful, has beautiful surroundings. not only was it the perfect place to hold a wedding, but it was an awesome getaway for my family.

the innkeeper is extremely accommodating & sweet, and is always there if you are in need of anything - we went out to dinner and when arriving back to the raritan, she had fresh fruit, tea, and coffee waiting for us. in the morning, i awoke to the smell of freshly-made banana-pecan pancakes and muffins. the kitchen is beautiful, complete with granite counter tops and two spacious dining rooms.

the rooms were extremely clean, and each had its own unique decor. each room has its own newly updated bathroom with relaxing showers that include body sprays. the pillows in my bed were to die for - i had to check the tag to see where they were from!!

downstairs in the basement is the original foundation, and it was incredible to see a piece of history. there is no doubt that i will travel back to the raritan inn again - it has given my family and i some unforgetable memories!! highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank katielp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

my husband and I stayed for a night hiding from the rest of the world. this is not exactly cheap - one night went for over $200, but the place is wonderful, the area is magnificent and the nature around is quietly stunning. we were the only guests for the night and enjoyed the house for ourselves - the innkeeper lives in a house directly across the yard. the rooms are very nicely kept, with enough country style but not too much - the bathrooms are all updated and everything is squeaky clean. the innkeeper left us a bottle of wine and cookies to enjoy when we returned from dinner, and we did so playing pool in the nice game room downstairs. the place is a great mixture of tradition and technology, with free wi-fi and full body showers, and the innkeeper will tell you all about the great renovation the building went through, with all new and eco-friendly updates that make this a wonderful "green holiday". and the breakfast!!! ohh, gosh, it was soooo delicious!
we definitely recommend to splurge on this place if you have a chance!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MadMarcConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews