We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 15:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Battleship New Jersey
from US$52.00
More Info
from US$53.00
More Info
from US$43.08
More Info
from US$60.52
More Info
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
390
140
15
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
140
15
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour new jersey gun turret steep stairs piece of history penn's landing camden waterfront the ben franklin bridge sailors ladder guns veterans quarters nj bow glimpse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

After 9/11/2001, I went aboard the New Jersey to see what it takes to be a Docent. To become a Docent (a Tour Guide with great knowledge) one must study the Docent's manual and then take and get a passing grade on 5 written exams. When the docent is assigned a group he/she greets the group then begins a walking tour. The walking and talking and answering questions tour, takes about 2 hours.
The docents frequently have some very interesting information about the ship. In the Combat information Center one docent had been on the shore in Korea when the big 16 inch guns sent in many 1,600 pound shells that truly saved his life.
877 feet and 6 inches long and 108 feet wide is a nice walk in history.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Bob4884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We went to visit Battleship NJ in the morning, thinking we would be there for a couple of hours...three at the most.

Little did we know...this ship is HUGE. We were there until 2 pm and that is because we rushed through the latter part of the self-guided tour.

Battleship NJ is HUGE, while I do not know about the guided tour, if you take the self-guided walking tour (by following these color lines on the decks and floors of the ship), this will turn out to be an all day trip.

All I know is that I am surprised at how much (unprecedented in my personal experience) access we were allowed on the ship with tons of information provided by the exhibits and the staff. And if that is not enough, the end of the walking tour culminated into one section of the ship turned into a museum, which can easily take up a couple of hours going through everything.

So if you want to visit Battleship NJ and do not feel like you need to rush through it, make it an all day affair.

Date of experience: July 2013
4  Thank PoloRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The "Big J"...the battleship New Jersey; BB-62. She fought in WW2, Korea, Vietnam, and 1983 Lebanon before being decommissioned just prior to Desert Storm. I brought my grandson for a sleep-aboard, and the private tour offered helped him understand American history far more effectively than any textbook. Seeing and sleeping in the enlisted racks, eating in the chowhall, and climbing inside Turret # 3 and seeing those monster 16" guns...this makes history come alive!

This is well worth your time and effort; by all means bring the family!

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We are stationed in New Jersey and after visiting the Aquarium we walked over to see the Battleship. It is definitely something to see, to walk around the ship is wonderful the children loved it. It is however not for strollers so be prepared to carry the little ones quite a bit :)

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Family took kids there - were very impressed and received a lot of personal attention. Questions answered quickly; the people who work here really love this ship.

If you have seen pictures of the Iowa class Battleships (the New Jersey, the Iowa, the Missouri, and the Wisconsin), you know that even 70 years old, they're beautiful and modern. And they're a very impressive weapon that served four or five wars. I'm proud of these ships and think it speaks to the engineering brilliance in the United States.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Fusion_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews