We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!!!”

Cape May Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 1859 Cape May Lighthouse, fully restored. Climb 199 steps to the top for a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay. Open daily. Evening trolley tours. Museum shop.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 30 July 2014

You must visit this beautiful lighthouse if you plan on visiting this grand old Victorian town. It is amazing how beautiful the old homes have been maintained.

Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

The Lighthouse gives you a bird's eye view of the Cape, including the beautiful homes that surround it, the natural areas and Cape May in the distance. It's well worth the climb. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,086 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

My extended family and I went to see the lighthouse on a day it was too cool to swim, and I'm so glad we did. The brave and strong climbed the lighthouse, and the rest of us scoured the museum. It has a surprising amount to teach in those few rooms, and it not only passed the time pleasantly, but made us forget all about missing the lighthouse itself.

The snack truck parked on premises had more reasonable prices than I'd expect, so we capped off our visit with ice cream. Solid way to spend a couple hours at the shore.

Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

The Lighthouse and State Park can keep you occupied for a few pleasant hours. If you choose not to climb, there are displays in the Oil House that explain the Lighthouse history and lore and a video is available so you can see the views you missed. Hope you'll return and give it a try. Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a great site, with an uncrowded (but non-swimming) beach, nature trails and helpful staff. Views are spectacular and the staff is helpful.

Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

We so glad you visited. The Lighthouse and Cape May Point State Park is a great place to spend the day. Our Lighthouse Keepers are always happy to share their knowledge and love for the Lighthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was the only "brave" enough in my party to walk up and down the 200 stairs of the Cape May Lighthouse. Not going to lie, it is a steep and narrow climb to the top, but it is much easier on the way down. There really is no room to have more than one person climb at a time, so if you need to take a break, try to make it to one of the many platforms you'll come across. I think they are about every 50 steps or so.

It costs $8 to go in, which I thought was reasonable.

This was my first lighthouse, so I am sorry that I cannot compare it to other ones.

If you see a large group in front of you, it might be best to come back later. Like I said, there isn't much room to maneuver on the staircase, so passing people is out of the question.

1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

The climb can be daunting but we're glad you didn't let it scare you away. The reward is a panoramic view from the top. There are landings every 30 steps so you can stop to catch your breath, see the views from the windows and read about the tower. Another reward is the opportunity to talk to the keepers at the top who are knowledgeable about lighthouse history and lore. We're glad you took the time to climb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

there was a show in the small building next to the lighthouse, small animals were presented to the audience, like, turtles, snakes,etc. the children were thrilled

Thank postofficeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

You can spend a fun-filled day at the State Park and Lighthouse. The nature trails are great and there are live animal show scheduled. The climb up the tower ends in breathtaking views of the cape. A great day with the family. Thanks for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape May Lighthouse also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing