We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stopped by”

Cape May Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 58 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 1859 Cape May Lighthouse, fully restored. Climb 199 steps to the top for a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay. Open daily. Evening trolley tours. Museum shop.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Lighthouse fee seemed a bit steep ($8) to walk up to the observation deck but it was still fun and interesting. It can get crowded at the top so we could have spent more time at the top enjoying the view but you feel like you should keep moving. The whole trip up, enjoy the view, and back down the winding stairs took maybe 35 minutes. I recommend this stop for the Lighthouse and the little museum next door.

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We're glad you stopped by too. The admission fee helps us maintain the Lighthouse. The original restoration ran more than $2,000,000 and up-keep is on-going. As a matter of fact, a new coat of paint is on the horizon and you can imagine how many gallons it will take. The Lighthouse and State Park is a popular stop for many of our summer visitors so it can get a bit crowded. Thanks you for climbing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
There are newer reviews for Cape May Lighthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,020 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The climb only takes 5 mins and is definitely worth getting to the top as the view is breath-taking.

Thank AgrawalAnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

You must be in good shape if you can make it up the 199 steps in 5 minutes! Most people are happy to find that there are landings every 30 steps where they can stop, catch their breath and enjoy the sights from the windows. The view from the top is the pay-off, a panoramic view of the Cape. Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband went up,all 199 steps. He really enjoyed it and got some real awesome pics. Not for the faint of heart or medical conditions.

Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

The climb up the 199 steps is a good workout but the reward is a panoramic view of the Cape. You'll learn about the lighthouse as you climb and the keeper at the top has even more information to share with you. Thanks for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Cape May is a peaceful and scenic place to be. This lighthouse is pretty old and quite beautiful. It takes a total of 199 stairs and $6 per person to reach its top and witness the priceless beauty around. Make sure you wear comfortable footwear, climbing it will definitely increase the heart rate so its also a nice workout while on vacation :D It has a beach of its own called Lighthouse beach which is pretty isolated and free no tags required, swimming is not allowed I guess. Has lush garden and also BBQ grills and a museum nearby which we dint visit. The area has lot of serene vacation rentals which are hard to find at the last moment so make sure to book them in advance.

Thank Sonia_Verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

A visit to the Lighthouse and State Park is a great way to spend the day. The climb up the Lighthouse is good exercise and the view of at the top is totally worth the effort. Good shoes are a must! The museum and nature trails at the park are also worth a visit. Thanks for coming to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

took my 2 grandaughters and we climbed the lighthouse what a beautiful view so glad I did it! Even bought the magnet at the gift shop to say i climbed it!

Thank queensfunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Congratulations to you and your granddaughters for climbing the 199 steps. The panoramic view is worth the effort. And thank you for Introducing the kids to lighthouse history and lore. We're happy when people share our passions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape May Lighthouse also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing