We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic”

Cape May Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 60 things to do in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 1859 Cape May Lighthouse, fully restored. Climb 199 steps to the top for a breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean and Delaware Bay. Open daily. Evening trolley tours. Museum shop.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
New Jersey Countryside
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Worth the bike ride there and back with the kids. Note: Take 2nd Ave if on bikes, way less car traffic

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jtcdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
A trip to the Lighthouse and State Park should be on everyone's to do list. It's a great place to spend the day and a bike ride out makes it even more of an adventure. Thank you for visiting and showing your kids a piece of our history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    471
    105
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Milford, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband & I got to the lighthouse at opening and their still was a good amount of other people doing the climb. Its a beautiful view at the top of the lighthouse of the beach, bunker, and lakes. It costs eight dollars to climb and we were able to do the combination ticket for $4 more a person to also climb the World War II Lookout Tower. I did notice that the stairs were very dusty and dirty where people did not climb. For $8 a head you would hope they could maintain it better. After our climb, we enjoyed doing the nature trail at the park and were able to enjoy the swamp rose mallow in bloom.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
The combination ticket is the way to go if you're up for climbing the Lighthouse (199 steps) and the World War II Tower (99 steps). With hundreds of climber a day, it's sometimes hard to keep up with the housekeeping but we'll take your comments to heart. Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fun climb up, nice view”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived on a "family fun day". There were vendors set up (not particularly family or kid oriented, however) and some musicians playing for the kids. I climbed the tower with my 7 year old. The view was very nice from the top. The small spiral staircase was fun as my daughter counted the steps to the top.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Every Wednesday in the summer is "family fun day" at the Lighthouse with some extra activity on the grounds. The climb up the 199 steps takes some time and energy but it totally worth it. The reward is a panoramic view of the Cape. We're glad you visited with your kids. They got to experience a slice of our history in that climb. Imagine what it would have been like to climb those steps every day, hauling with you gallons of oil for the lamp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped by”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Lighthouse fee seemed a bit steep ($8) to walk up to the observation deck but it was still fun and interesting. It can get crowded at the top so we could have spent more time at the top enjoying the view but you feel like you should keep moving. The whole trip up, enjoy the view, and back down the winding stairs took maybe 35 minutes. I recommend this stop for the Lighthouse and the little museum next door.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We're glad you stopped by too. The admission fee helps us maintain the Lighthouse. The original restoration ran more than $2,000,000 and up-keep is on-going. As a matter of fact, a new coat of paint is on the horizon and you can imagine how many gallons it will take. The Lighthouse and State Park is a popular stop for many of our summer visitors so it can get a bit crowded. Thanks you for climbing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fairly easy climb with a great view!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The climb only takes 5 mins and is definitely worth getting to the top as the view is breath-taking.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AgrawalAnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-AtlanticCenter, Manager at Cape May Lighthouse, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
You must be in good shape if you can make it up the 199 steps in 5 minutes! Most people are happy to find that there are landings every 30 steps where they can stop, catch their breath and enjoy the sights from the windows. The view from the top is the pay-off, a panoramic view of the Cape. Thanks for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape May Lighthouse also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing