We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December Adventure”

Cape May Whale Watcher
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Whale and Dolphin Watching Cruise from Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cape May Whale Watcher is one of the largest whale and dolphin watching tourist destinations in Cape May, NJ. Outside of our popular whale and dolphin watching tours, patrons may also choose to experience a lighthouse or sunset tour. Food is available purchase and patrons may purchase tickets for a dinner cruise which includes a delicious prime rib buffet.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Moorestown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“December Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Close-up views of eight to eleven fin and humpback whales and dozens of impressive water spouts on a cold and windy December afternoon aboard the Cape May Whale Watcher. Large professionally-piloted vessel with clean restrooms and above-average snack bar. An out-of-season trip means you'll need to dress appropriately for conditions on the open water; multiple layers with a fleece jacket and a hooded windproof shell, heavy gloves and a cap that won't blow off your head. As always, pack lip balm, sunglasses and sun screen. If the exposed upper deck isn't your style, the vessel has a large comfortable heated cabin that seats 80 persons. A limited number of binoculars are available for rental but if you can bring your own pair along with a camera. The experienced crew is knowledgeable but your trip will definitely be more enjoyable if you do a little background research beforehand. The website is accurate, informative and easy to navigate and the friendly owners are just a phone call away.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank QuakerDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    84
    29
    22
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Windy with a Chance of Whales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Likes: Friendly staff, great tour guide, Dolphins Dolphins everywhere, peaceful, calm, beautiful, serene boat ride, the views were awesome, snack bar on the boat, binoculars available for purchase, did I say Dolphins? Everywhere!!!

Dislikes: rainy, windy weather, no Whales :O(

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Serenity V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford,Pa
Level Contributor
355 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great Day On Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took the whale watching and dolphin trip on a beautiful autumn day. We saw at least 75 dolphins but no whales. It was still a nice trip on the water in a beautiful area. If you have the time after the trip go into the town of Cape May to see the lighthouse, Victorian houses and great birding wildlife refuges.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A cold windy day with loads of dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently went on one of the whale watching trips. While we didn't see a whale that day, we saw tons of dolphins, which was great. I am prone to motion sickness and while it was windy and cold, it's a large boat (makes for a smoother ride) and I had minimal problems with it. The inside of the boat was cozy and heated, which provided a great place to escape from the cold (we went in October - the weather was what we'd anticipated) and sit down during the trip.

We'd definitely go back, but maybe pick a warmer time of year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMW215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“dolphins were spectacular!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We went on the "whale & dolphin tour" in July, 2013. The highlight for me was the dolphins near the beginning of the tour. I had never seen dolphins follow the boat closely when the captain increased the speed & the jump over the waves! Quite a sight! The trip became quite boring when we sailed far from the shore in search of whales. The captain kept asking us to search for them but none could be found! Unfortunately, the majority of the sail involved this search & there was no shoreline or anything to see. I think there is a time & season for whales & if this isn't the right season, they should sail somewhere else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shell4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape May Whale Watcher also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cape May Whale Watcher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing