We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accomadations at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable accomadations at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We spent four nights at the Victorian motel in earlyFebr uary and returned for four nights this past week. The motel is very convenient to all the birdwatching sites in Cape May County. We appreciate the convenience offered by the efficiency units because we enjoy cooking. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The motel staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 786Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptCookCapeMay, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for expressing your satisfaction with the Victorian. We try to remain affordable while not compromising standards. Thanks again for visiting and enjoying the Birding that Cape May has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    149
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
295
183
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paulsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just got back from a stay at the Victorian Motel and we will go back. We have stayed in a lot of other hotel/motels in Cape May, but this is going to be our place to stay in from now on. You could not ask for a nicer motel in Cape May. From the friendly and helpful staff to the spotless clean and spacious rooms to a location that has you within walking distance from all the shops, promenade and beach. You could not ask for a better place to stay in Cape May, NJ.

Room Tip: We chose a room with 2 double beds, kitchenette and separate "living room". It gave the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noh24_525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I just got back from this motel after a weekend stay. I now know why this motel is rated #1 in Trip Advisor, in Cape May. Our room was very clean and comfortable, the front office was very helpful and friendly... it was a perfect weekend. Now I can't wait to come here in the summer when that huge pool outside our door is open! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TI-Elting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We picked the Victorian Motel for the location, close to the beach and right at the end of the Washington St. Mall. Check-in was a breeze. We asked the gentleman for his advice regarding seafood restaurants and were very glad we listened, had a great meal at the Lobster House. After dinner we were able to walk to Ugly Mugs for a drink, liquor store is also around the corner. Room was spotless, ample parking. Only stayed one night in the off season, but had a blast and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Pa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've stayed at the Victorian Motel three times so far and each time has been a pleasant experience. The rooms were always very clean, the staff friendly and you just can't beat the location. No ocean view, but the Victorian excels in all other areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsant01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just stayed one night here on our way to NC. I called in directly to the hotel & Roberta was very sweet & helpful. They were able to accommodate our late check-in despite the fact that the front check shut at 10pm. When we got in, our room was basic but clean & comfortable...the perfect stopover after our long drive! We took off early in the morning without seeing anyone but left with a nice experience on our minds.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amary70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

When you first arrive, you look at the motel and think that it looks just like any other motel from the outside. But when I saw it was number 1 on tripadvisor, i knew there had to be a reason. I booked one night here, because it was Presidents Day Weekend, and Saturday night was booked, so I decided to spend one night in Wildwood and one night here in Cape May.

When we got into the hotel, we were just amazed at how clean, comfortable and spacious the room was! And the location - right at one end of Washington Street Mall, and 2 blocks from the beach, was absolutely perfect! The manager John was so helpful from making the reservation, to the moment I checked out and asking me, by my first name, which location I chose for dinner the night before.

This hotel made me feel at home - so much that I almost contemplated calling in sick to work and staying one more night. But i'll leave that for my next trip to Cape May, and my next stay at the Victorian Motel, because I WILL be back! Thanks so much John and Staff!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor - and couldn't hear anything above or below me. If all the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank southernerbyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Property: Victorian Motel
Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing