We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian Motel is Number #1!”
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Victorian Motel is Number #1!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been coming here for 5 years straight always the same week. The rooms are all updated and spotless. We always book the 3rd floor so we can look out at the mall at night. The pool is immaculate ! Thanks you for yet another wonderful stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vdasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    158
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
311
191
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great location. A short walk to both the beach and shopping. Our room was nice and clean, but too close to the pool so it felt like folks could peep right in. Book an upper floor if you can. Staff are very friendly and a great source of information on fun things to do in town. Giving it just 3 stars because the beds were just too hard!

Room Tip: Pick second or third floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annatraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here last year and our 2nd year was as good as the first. We had already taken our "official" summer vacation this year with the kids but when we saw there was a last minute cancellation for a room that holds all 6 of us, we jumped at it (thank you Facebook!). The location is perfect, the room was spotless, the rate was very affordable. We'll definitely be back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKC2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

First visit to Cape may could not have been better. Thanks Victorian Motel. We stayed in a two room efficiency. Motel is at the footsteps of the Washington Mall and one block to the beach....just the best location if you are not directly on the beach! Room was very clean and just the right size for a family of 3-4 (we were 3). Only comment would be to bring your own shampoo. Motel does not replenish after first night. In my mind no big deal as everything else was perfect and CLEAN....which is big deal for me....I was skeptical as its a MOTEL...butII I must say CLEAN again.

Room Tip: room 310 had a great view of Washington Street mall....stay in that corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Wow Viktor, First time to Cape May and the Victorian. Were happy we could make your stay enjoyable and sincerely appreciate the time to share your thoughts with us. Our staff work extra hard to keep our rooms clean. Sorry for the hiccup on the shampoo. So happy you say you'll return.
Clean is a big issue for us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our first stay at The Victorian Motel and are already deciding what date to return. The staff (including dog Joy and cat Tabitha) were friendly and accommodating. We actually split our vacation into 2 rooms. Both were Very Clean. The first was the 2 room efficiency which is very spacious.. Includes full kitchen.. Nice size table.. TV .. And lots of drawer space. (My only complaint would be lack of a TV in the bedroom.) The second room was the deluxe 2 double beds. Again, very spacious.. Nice.. No kitchen but small fridge. Both rooms overlooked the pool..which is nice and a gate separates the baby pool. There are lots of chairs and tables. You can grill too. The place is perfect.
My favorite part though is the location. You are looking at Washington Street. The shopping/dining is fantastic! There is something for everyone. It's open very late which I loved.. Like 11:00-12:00 am. Always something to do. The ghost trolley tours are located here as well (which was great.. It's a must!)
The other side of the motel is Congress Hall which is a beautiful hotel open to the public with a few shops and massage parlor. They had the best coffee !
The beach is only one block... (dolphins swim close to shore!) Uncle Bills Pancakes is one block.. Minutes from Wildwood Boardwalk... Cape May lighthouse.. And Whale /dolphin cruises. By far the best vacation ever!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMc0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for your first stay at the Victorian. And thank you for comprehensive review of your stay. Our staff work hard to get the results you experienced. We look forward to your return visit.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lovely motel perfectly located and within easy walking distance from the Washington Street Mall and beach. A little overpriced for basic amenities but very clean. We had a 3 night stay in a 2 room efficiency suite and my only negative comment would be the utensils in the kitchenette area - only 3 cups for 4 people and an odd mix of plates? However we received a very warm welcome on arrival and all the motel staff we came across were equally friendly. We would definitely recommend this motel for anyone visiting Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Victorian. We've stayed at various properties and rented places in Cape May but this was our first time here. As far as a motel goes you can't really do any better than this place.

Checkin was efficient and friendly. Rooms were super clean and housekeeping did an excellent job every day with the room. We had the two room efficiency and there was plenty of space for our four person family. We liked the firmer beds and slept well. The pool was a really nice surprise, it was very well maintained and the shuffleboard court right near the pool was a lot of fun.

And then there is the location, which just can't be beat. You are within minutes of the beach and the center of town. Perfect.

Overall, while we didn't expect or get anything fancy what we did receive was an excellent motel experience at a place with owners that obviously take a ton of pride in their establishment. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nytraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,312 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#7 of 37 in Cape May
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Property: Victorian Motel
Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing