We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word--Disappointing”
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Returned with my wife after 60 years to revisited the Coast Guard base. Decided to stay at the Victorian Motel due to its rating in trip advisor. It was over priced. Beds were lumpy. No coffee maker.

The door safety chain lock was literally anchored to the door frame with black string.

There were two or three chairs beside each entry door that may add a touch of community but between each chair was a large ash tray which I am sure would allow large amounts of smoke to bellow into a room when a door was open.

Sadly, it was disappointing and if I were to return to Cape May I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

The location was great but not the room. It had stains on the floor, the pillows were very hard and the beds were like sleeping on a board. We did have a small refrigerator but No Coffey pot! The bath room was so small the door banged against the toilet. All in all I would never go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just got back from 4 days/3 nights at the Victorian Motel in Cape May. Even though we had to change our reservations at the last minute (due to illness), the staff at the Victorian was so pleasant and helpful. We love going there as it is conveniently located to all the attractions (many within walking distance), has consistently friendly & accommodating staff, and clean rooms. We definitely will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great to meet owner John Cooke and the equally friendly motel dog and cat. The location on the mall and next to the Congress and access to the ocean front were marvelous. Other guests in the motel were friendly, too. Cape May is the best of New Jersey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJNfrom08560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I just came back from a 2 night 3 day stay at the Victorian Motel. I have to be honest and say the word "motel" worried me a little. It made me think of a shady place along a highway lol. This was clearly anything but!!! Starting with the easy check-in, extremely nice employees and the beautiful rooms, I was so impressed! Our room was cozy and immaculate! Ladies, don't get upset like I did at first when I walked into the restroom and there was no hair dryer. Just ask the front desk, they have them there.

The location was everything! Located right across from shopping and Congress Hall Hotel. If you want a good cup of coffee, try Congress Hall gift shop! I cannot wait to book for next year. Amazing time and a amazing experience.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JessCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We travel to Cape May every September. It was by chance we stayed at the Victorian Motel 6 years ago and what a lucky break for us! We have been back every year since and are already booked for 2014. The entire staff is friendly and courteous. The place is kept very clean. The pool is crystal clear. It's location is right at the beginning of the Washington Street Mall. It is two blocks from the Ocean and there are some of the best food places in Cape May all within walking distance.

Room Tip: We have always stayed on the top floor (3rd) and have been very happy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chief406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were in Cape May for two days to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary with our well behaved two year old daughter. The Victorian Motel was a really good choice - great location at the foot of the Washington Street Mall - nice swimming pool - and less than two blocks to the beach. We had wanted to stay in a Victorian B&B as we own two of them in St. Michaels, Maryland, but alas, with almost 50 B&B Inns in this town, we could not find a nice one to accept us with our two year old daughter. You would think that a few of the inns would figure this out and accept smaller children . . they would probably be full! The owner of the motel is on site busy supervising the housekeeping staff and managing the inn. Our stay was pleasant, the room properly equipped and clean, and the towels and pillows were sufficient. My real disappointment was the lack of any coffee in the mornings (there is ample room in the lobby area) and the pool was only 76F on the second morning (they could use a solar cover over-night to keep the pool much warmer - our pool at our inn was 84F) and it got over 90F that day in Cape May. Several really good restaurants nearby including the "Blue Pig" for breakfast or lunch and Cucina Rosa for dinner (classic Italian) are right across the street. A really good motel in a great location . . with a little more work it could be so much better!

Will Workman, St. Michaels - Maryland

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the pool - the third floor may be better if there are a lot of kids in the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillWorkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £38 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing