We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & relaxing!”
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We go to Cape May annually and stay at the Victorian Motel for a number of reasons. The rooms are comfortable & relaxing with the ocean breeze blowing through the windows. The hosts are accommodating and service oriented. The location is super with the Washington Street Mall across on street and the beach just a block away. The rates are reasonable. Over the last several years they have upgraded numerous things. We will continue to look forward to our visits there for years to come.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rici0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Typical Jersey shore accommodations, however we expected better of Cape May. The room amenities can best be described as "Spartan"...no coffee maker, tiny refrigerator, no microwave, no exhaust fan in bathroom. We even had to request additional bars of soap. The best feature of this hotel is the location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollars for the efficiency if you can afford it because the standard room has no ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Returned with my wife after 60 years to revisited the Coast Guard base. Decided to stay at the Victorian Motel due to its rating in trip advisor. It was over priced. Beds were lumpy. No coffee maker.

The door safety chain lock was literally anchored to the door frame with black string.

There were two or three chairs beside each entry door that may add a touch of community but between each chair was a large ash tray which I am sure would allow large amounts of smoke to bellow into a room when a door was open.

Sadly, it was disappointing and if I were to return to Cape May I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

The location was great but not the room. It had stains on the floor, the pillows were very hard and the beds were like sleeping on a board. We did have a small refrigerator but No Coffey pot! The bath room was so small the door banged against the toilet. All in all I would never go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We just got back from 4 days/3 nights at the Victorian Motel in Cape May. Even though we had to change our reservations at the last minute (due to illness), the staff at the Victorian was so pleasant and helpful. We love going there as it is conveniently located to all the attractions (many within walking distance), has consistently friendly & accommodating staff, and clean rooms. We definitely will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great to meet owner John Cooke and the equally friendly motel dog and cat. The location on the mall and next to the Congress and access to the ocean front were marvelous. Other guests in the motel were friendly, too. Cape May is the best of New Jersey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJNfrom08560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I just came back from a 2 night 3 day stay at the Victorian Motel. I have to be honest and say the word "motel" worried me a little. It made me think of a shady place along a highway lol. This was clearly anything but!!! Starting with the easy check-in, extremely nice employees and the beautiful rooms, I was so impressed! Our room was cozy and immaculate! Ladies, don't get upset like I did at first when I walked into the restroom and there was no hair dryer. Just ask the front desk, they have them there.

The location was everything! Located right across from shopping and Congress Hall Hotel. If you want a good cup of coffee, try Congress Hall gift shop! I cannot wait to book for next year. Amazing time and a amazing experience.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JessCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,189 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,241 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £37 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing