We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time we have stayed here. Large rooms , very clean , and great location. We usually stay here off season and the value and location-- in the heart of historic Cape May with parking and within easy walking distance if the beach and great restaurants--is wonderful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AKACohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Victorian Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Cape May in winter is beautiful and the Victorian Motel is a great place to stay. To walk around Cape May without the crowds of summer is like having Victorian Main Street in Disneyland all to yourself...with much better food. The motel itself is clean and comfortable with reasonable rates. The management couldn't be nicer, and will go out of their way to help if you need it. Check it out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate and value your opinion. It is through opinions and reviews like this that we continually improve our service and our location. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is located at the end of an adorable shopping district in Cape May. It is an older building but it was very clean and affordable. My only complaint would be that i wish there were a television in the bedroom. My husband spend a night there in late February and stayed in a two room efficiency. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcw6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Go to location for all of my future Cape May visits.

The staff is very friendly. All the positive reviews given are deserved so believe them.

My family and I were greeted by sleeping cat in the reception area and made us feel right at home.

Great location in the middle of Cape May.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Linda2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We're so pleased that you found us to be that good. Our staff go out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. Reviews like this encourage us and our staff to do a great job. Thanks for taking the time to write us up on Trip Advisor and we look forward for your next "Go-To" visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nothing beats this location! It was our first time in Cape May and we wanted convenience, comfort and value. Checking in and out was easy; the staff was friendly; our room was large, comfortable and spotless. It was also quiet and we had restful sleep. The kitchenette was great and conveniently stocked with plates, silverware, toaster and even had table-top stove burners.

It was so nice to just park the car and walk around everywhere. Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Our kitchenette room was in the corner of the L-shaped building, tucked into the corner so there is...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lightniter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Every winter I travel from California to check on our summer home at the Point. The location of the Victorian Motel is ideal for the three or so days I am in town. It's directly across from the Mall, across the street from the Congress Hall, less the a block from the beach, walking distance to several nice restaurants and only ten minutes from the Point. The rooms were recently renovated are clean and very comfortable. In the past I would bring my mother down from Pennsylvania so the ramp, elevator and first floor rooms were terrific. Now I travel with my daughter or sister, we reserve the suite which is perfect with separate rooms and kitchenette. The best thing is the staff! They are wonderful! providing us with late night check in, clean prompt service and always a big smile.
Looking forward to being there next winter.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are the easiest to access and warmer but if you want a little view ask for the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sixletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

IT was a delight staying at the Victorian Motel. The staff at reception was friendly, courteous and most helpful upon arrival, during our stay, and at departure. They let us keep our car parked on premises even after check-out.

Our room was clean, and not just clean, but spotless, neat and well appointed with lighting, especially in the bathroom.

The view of Congress Hall and Washington Mall right outside our door/window lent itself to an open spacious view.

The property is a great value, friendly, and very accommodating.

I highly recommend the Victorian Motel.

Thank you,
Flora Phyllis Oppenheimer

Room Tip: Great view from the third floor. There is an elevator!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloraPhyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £37 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing