We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The People Make The Differene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The People Make The Differene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I can’t say enough good things about John Cooke and the entire staff at the Victorian Motel in Cape May. I’ve traveled all over the world and have never had better service. Everyone there made me feel more like family than just a guest. The room was clean and the motel location is very well situated to explore much of Cape May on foot and the rest is just a short drive away. This is a great value and the people really care about helping to make your visit the best it can be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Ken,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your stay. Our team takes your comfort level very seriously and we are glad your experience was so positive. Comments like this encourage our staff to know they are doing a great job, and will be shared.
Were happy you enjoyed the marathon here in Cape May and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    149
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
295
183
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I enjoy Cape May off season and Victorian Motel is always my hotel of choice. You cannot beat the location. Once you park your auto you can walk to the beach, mall, super market, liquor store, shops,city hall, churches, and restaurants. The staff are just the greatest and very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mercedes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

My family has been staying at this motel for over 15 years. It's in a wonderful location just steps from the outdoor mall and a short walk to the beach. There are great restaurants, lovely shops and fun attractions close by. The atmosphere at this motel is very family-friendly; it's homey and down-to-earth. The staff is very helpful and will go out of their way to make you comfortable. The rates are reasonable and there are several types of rooms to choose from. The rooms are decorated in a simple, casual style, and are spotlessly clean. You can really relax here with kids because there is nothing fancy to worry about breaking or damaging. The plates in the kitchenette don't match, but who cares? You're on vacation! If you want sumptuous luxury, go to one of the deluxe hotels on the beachfront and pay triple the price. But if you want a nice, easygoing motel with a great pool, an outdoor barbecue and nice amenities for you and your family, come to the Victorian. It's even nice in the winter time...the mall is beautifully decorated with sparkling lights, there are year-round restaurants with good food, and many of the shops are open on the weekend.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a mini-fridge, but if you need a microwave get a deluxe room with a kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitingTutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This is the fourth time we have stayed here. Large rooms , very clean , and great location. We usually stay here off season and the value and location-- in the heart of historic Cape May with parking and within easy walking distance if the beach and great restaurants--is wonderful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AKACohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Cape May in winter is beautiful and the Victorian Motel is a great place to stay. To walk around Cape May without the crowds of summer is like having Victorian Main Street in Disneyland all to yourself...with much better food. The motel itself is clean and comfortable with reasonable rates. The management couldn't be nicer, and will go out of their way to help if you need it. Check it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate and value your opinion. It is through opinions and reviews like this that we continually improve our service and our location. We look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is located at the end of an adorable shopping district in Cape May. It is an older building but it was very clean and affordable. My only complaint would be that i wish there were a television in the bedroom. My husband spend a night there in late February and stayed in a two room efficiency. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcw6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Go to location for all of my future Cape May visits.

The staff is very friendly. All the positive reviews given are deserved so believe them.

My family and I were greeted by sleeping cat in the reception area and made us feel right at home.

Great location in the middle of Cape May.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
We're so pleased that you found us to be that good. Our staff go out of their way to be friendly and welcoming. Reviews like this encourage us and our staff to do a great job. Thanks for taking the time to write us up on Trip Advisor and we look forward for your next "Go-To" visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Property: Victorian Motel
Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing