We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for families”
Review of Victorian Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victorian Motel
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This motel is so clean and friendly. It has a great pool for the kids and everyone generally seems to be happy to be there. Even though there is a community feel, I found my room to be very quiet and did not here any neighbors during my stay. We had a room with double beds and it was quite roomy. There are no real amenities to speak of besides the ice machine and some shampoo and soap, but that's not a problem for me. It is right at the end of the main shopping street and easy to get to coffee, food, treats, etc. Also, its close to get to the beach, arcades, etc. Having Congress Hall next door is a great asset. We did yoga there in the mornings (on the beach) and went to a carnival and magic show one evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenerationnyc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    153
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
302
190
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I hate to let everyone know how wonderful this vacation spot is as I may not get the week I want! We have been coming here for several years and have never been disappointed. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Just love location to beach and shopping. My only issue is that guests put towels on patio tables to "reserve." Sometimes they are not there for hours but their towels are. This does not give other guests the opportunity to enjoy a patio table for a few hours.
However, LOVE this motel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ftlls411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

As always, the motel is perfect for our needs. Super clean, friendly employees, convient location to beach, shopping and most attractions in Cape May. I think this is like our 10th year here and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: If you want to cook on vacation get a suite, there is also a grill outside you can use. If it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This motel is perfect! Location is phenomenal, rooms are spotless, outside is spotless, people are friendly, pool is taken care of everyday, maid service is wonderful!!! Have stayed here for several years and won't stay anywhere else!! Only issue is the terrible wi-fi connection, increase you mobile data plan or download whatever movies the kids may want to watch on your tablet before you arrive, bring your hot spot. But I guess it wasn't a bad thing...forced to stay offline and spent quality time with family!!! if weather is bad, bring some board games or a deck of cards. We had crummy weather, and thank goodness we had a deck a cards....but wish we brought down some board games.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeSe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, General Manager at Victorian Motel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We were disappointed to learn about the poor wi-fi issue. We want everything to be as perfect. The good news is we have TRIPLED our bandwidth. (no easy task dealing with corporations) but we managed to get it done. We will be constantly trying to improve and upgrade the equipment as well.
We didn't want to reply till we were sure it was improved.
We are happy everything else was so nice about your stay and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We indeed read them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for 4 days with family in the suites. No issues finding the place, or parking, check in was easy, and rooms big, clean, and comfortable. I was nervous about the noise from outside from the pool area and being close to the popular mall, but once the door was shut you couldn't hear anything.

Since it's a motel, sitting outside you can see how all day staff are running around maintaining, cleaning, helping customers. They were really working hard, and the owner was there all hours of the day pitching in.

It gets a bit chaotic around 11 and 2 when people check in and out, but the rest of the day you aren't feeling crammed at all sitting outside your room, or at the pool, or grilling, or playing shuffleboard.

We look forward to our next visit here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edg126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have stayed at the Victorian Motel for the past four years, and we can't say enough about how great this hotel is. It's located right at the end of the Washington Mall and one block from the beach. Very close to everything! The motel is quiet, comfortable, and relaxing. It's always very clean, and the owners and staff are very friendly and hard-working. We look forward to seeing Joy, their golden retriever during our stays. It has a huge pool and a deck that overlooks the Washington Mall that is perfect for relaxing at after a long day at the beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable with plenty of towels. We are already looking forward to our next visit next summer!

Room Tip: Efficiency rooms do not have a balcony, but they do include a large fridge, stove top, microwave, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasinCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Victorian. All three have been excellent, no compaints rooms are clean neat and perfect. Location is ideal at end of Washington Commons, one block from beach. Pool is perfect for swimming or sunning. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnconbethpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Motel

Property: Victorian Motel
Address: 223 Congress Pl, Cape May, NJ 08204-1412
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#2 Family Hotel in Cape May
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Cape May
Victorian Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing