We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite Cape May Breakfast Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGlade's on the Pier

McGlade's on the Pier
Ranked #28 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Cape May Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This backs right onto the dunes. We watched some dolphins in the surf while we ate! They specialize in omelets but there is other standard breakfast fare. Worth going a little out of your way for this great little spot. We eat there whenever we stay in Cape May.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DWeber_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    107
    37
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
594 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We took out-of-town visitors to McGlade's so that we could have breakfast on the beach without sun or sand. They thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

McGlade's is known for its omelets. One of our guests had the Bacon-Cheese omelet with home fries and toast. She said that the omelet was very good and she loved the home fries. The other guest wanted two eggs and scrapple, but was rather particular about how he wanted them prepared: the eggs over hard and the scrapple cut thin and fried crisp. He received them as he ordered them and was very happy. I got the French Toast. It was cut thick, but was light and flavorful. My light-eating wife got an English muffin and orange juice. What could go wrong with that?

McGlade's sits on the edge of the beach so you get an unobstructed view of the Atlantic. You can't beat that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank practans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food... on the beach... without the sand!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

McGlades is literally on the beach but also has indoor seating. It's a wonderful way to enjoy lunch while in the shade but also enjoying the sound and site of the ocean.

A nice selection of salads, burgers and sandwiches with some pretty darn good fries. Salad plates are generous with fresh fruit and potato salad on the side. The crab cake and crab salads are very tasty. Burgers, meat and vegetarian, are done well with good toppings like sprouts and avocado.

Reasonably priced. Very friendly wait staff and a nice casual beach-side atmosphere. Didn't have breakfast but it looked great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gambier, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast place, outdoor dining, right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had a truly wonderful omelette and my husband had the best waffle I've ever tasted. The food was definitely tasty and beyond the ordinary. Everything seemed very fresh.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lgastin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Right on the beach, our hotel staff recommended this place for breakfast. Hidden behind Morrows Nut House next to the convention center. We went two days for breakfast. Fast service and great food. Specializing in any omlet you can imagine. Great Staff and a great view!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGlade's on the Pier also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to McGlade's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing