We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

This place isn't a bad deal if you're not really picky. We chose it because we do not like Victorian style B&B's, which seem to be all over town. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach or to the mall. You could rent a bike if you want but it's very doable on foot and it's fun to look at the houses along the way.

We had a small studio on the bottom floor. It was quite roomy and had a large bathroom and sleeper futon (which we did not use). The motel boasts new renovations which are shiny and clean, but do not hide the poor building construction. From 7am until 11pm you could hear children running around in the upstairs room and on the 2nd level. They have a flatscreen tv but what is the point if only 2 of the 50 channels are in hi definition? Also the kitchen is fully stocked with 4 sets of cups, bowls, dinner plates, salad plates, utensils, etc....but I don't see how any one could cook up a 4 course meal in...a microwave? A toaster oven at least would have been nice. The fridge looked new and did not have any funky smells. The pool was ok and had at least a few people in it at all times, some of them were possibly not MABC guests. The beds were pretty awful, we both woke up with sore backs. The pillows were old and flat and provided no support.

Bottom line - good deal for the location and amenities. Not spectacular, but better than other motels we've stayed in (cough, wildwood)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorbitzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    82
    48
    7
    5
See reviews for
86
79
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

The motel was farther from the downtown than the ocean motels but still walkable to washington mall (6-7 blocks). The price was reasonable. I had a room on the first floor (2 floors total). AC was fine, it was clean, the room was quiet. TV was modern but only a few channels which was odd. There was a kitchen of sorts with cabinets and some cutlery but no range (does have microwave). Nothing bad about it. Price was fine esp since it's not full tourist season. Cape May has many more romantic BB's but this was convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed here for one week with my family in a dark, cave-like room with a view of the gravel parking lot. Tons of stains on the carpet and mold in the bathroom. A look out the rear window provided a view of overgrown brush. Maid service was sub-par and over all the room was not clean with sightings of various insects throughout our stay. We are used to Congress Hall, and this place certainly is no where near the quality of That hotel. As far as it being called a beach club, talk about being deceptive. I dare you to crane your neck as far as you can in all directions, and if you see any sign of beach or ocean then it is certainly a mirage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank soshu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moonachie, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed at the Madison for 3 days in April and from the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out we were treated like Royalty from the staff. We have been going to Cape May for over 25 years and stayed at every B & B you could imagine, including the hotels, and we didn't enjoyed them half as much as we did the Madison. We can't imagine how we missed this jewel, but now that we found it, we're sure that every stay will be at the Madison, we just have to try and book early. Maureen and I would recommend this Beach Club to everyone who want to leave their troubles behind and relax and know they will be taken good care of. Check it out, you won't be disappointed. M. & M Andrews

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed here in early April with my 12 yr old son whilst we had a little road trip together from over in the UK. The only complaint from him was that the pool was still closed however one can understand this being the case so early in the season, other than that he was a happy bunny! Weather was fantastic which made it even more enjoyable.

The complex is bright, clean, and on this occasion quiet too. As a small establishment I would suggest noise would not be a major problem either during the summer months. Room was absolutely fine for our needs and again spotlessly clean. Value for money can't be beaten. Two nights lodging for the price of one room in a 'named' chain hotel. The beach is a 2 minute car ride or a 10 minute walk if you feel upto it. I would suggest a short drive to either Sunset Beach or Cape May Point. Both fine beaches, our favourite being Cape May point at the State Park.

There seems lots to do in the area, including the Wildwoods, most of it designed to keep kids of all ages happy. Talking to locals both areas get rammed in the summer months so if you're thinking of a summer holiday here you best book early.

Would we stay again? Too right we would !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustanglovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

It seemed like the best deal in Cape May, at least when we were there. Our room was a bit small, but apparently they have bigger ones. The room had flat screens and up-to-date kitchens and bathrooms with marble, etc. They had a beach box with chairs on the beach, and there was a also a pool. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinwoman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

We had a wonderful girlfriends weekend at the Madison Avenue Beach Club. It was clean and the kitchenette was a great amenity. It had a small fridge , coffeemaker, and was equipped with plates,glasses,cups,silverware and various utensils.The bathroom was spacious, had a blow dryer and the toiletries were lovely.MABC was very gracious in allowing us to stay only one night, even though they had a two night minimum on weekends.We were in walking distance to the Physick Estate where most of our events were taking place.The staff was very friendly and accomodating.We will definately stay there again and have already begun recommending MABC to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleycat513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel

Property: Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Address: 605 Madison Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2504
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Avenue Beach Club Hotel Cape May
Madison Avenue Beach Hotel
Madison Avenue Beach Motel
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing