We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely get-away B&B with excellent restaurant on premises.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We were pleased with our lovely room and bath. The room was clean and quiet and the bed was comfortable. We especially enjoyed The Mad Batter restaurant--the food was delicious and there was lots of it! The breakfast was amazing! It was only a short walk to the beach and to the shops. The one drawback was that parking was several blocks away, but it was a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandLinda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Carroll Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

staff was very friendly and helpful
food was very good
nice bar great bartender
room was lovely
overall very good !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweekcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location, right in the middle of the historic Cape May, down the street from the beach and arround the corner from the quaint shopping district. The room was charmingly small and very comfortable, everything you'd need or want provided . The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Mad Batter Restaurant is always worth the trip !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryBeth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Our stay here was a gift for my birthday through living social so I cannot really comment on the cost of staying here, but would definitely be interested in staying here again.

I highly recommend dinner there at the Mad Batter! The service was great and the food fantastic! I can't remember the last meal I had that was soooo good in every way. Breakfast was decent. Happy Hour/bar is very nice as well.

It was a bit difficult to make a reservation. The woman seemed annoyed on the phone and I had to call back because my confirmation had the wrong date...but once we arrived it was smooth sailing! Everyone there was courteous, smiling and happy to help.

We got a envelope of goodies with discounts to nearby stores and attractions. Our room was nice and private and very clean. The shower was verrry tiny and I had trouble sleeping with the door constantly making noise with the wind (but I'm a very light sleeper). Parking is free but a bit far and a hassle when it's not nice out, but the location of Carroll Villa is well worth it! Right near the shops and close to the beach!

Room Tip: ask about bathroom, shower AND bath? where located
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Nice room, friendly staff, and wonderful location. I wish there was a way to move luggage up the steps without having to carry it. I was on the 3rd floor. The Mad Batter restaurant is very popular in Cape May, and rightly so. As part of the room rate, guests get to choose between breakfast or lunch. I opted for lunch and was not disappointed. Yum!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Since the entrance to Carroll Villa is through the Mad Batter Restaurant, my first impression was not great. However, once inside, the hotel was lovely. The staff was friendly, the decor charming and my room was quiet, quaint and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, but decorated with Victorian antiques. Everything was so very clean. There was not a scratch, crack or stain anywhere. The hotel is a half block to the beach and shopping is around the corner. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I must say the drive was worth the trip! even though we were just in for the day from staten island. We had the best time ever! Mark was a pleasure to meet and was very helpful in giving directions and telling us where to go in town and park.
We decided to have dinner at the hotel the crab cakes were great and the next mornings breakfest was yummy! so thanks to the staff and owners and we will definately be back.
regards, Ivette Velez

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivette-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £124 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing