We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We had a great time at your hotel. All of your staff were very helpful and gracious. The food in the Mad Batter was delicious. Would recommend your hotel highly.

Room Tip: Be sure to tell guests that hotel has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

Nice quiet B&B in Cape May, NJ. Victorian styling and decent restaurant. We went for midweek stay and were pleased with the room and staff. Friendly and personable staff gave us a rundown of the B&B and town.

Quiet beach midweek and close to Wildwood Amusement Boardwalk if you want a more trendy daytrip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiaccomoRavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We visited Cape May, NJ for just one night, and stayed at the Carroll Villa Hotel. It was a great mini-trip and we were very pleased with our accommodations there. We had reserved our room through a Living Social special, so we knew it would be one of their smaller rooms. However, it had everything we needed and the location was terrific. We also enjoyed the Mad Batter restaurant which is right on the premises. We only ate breakfast there but the $30 breakfast voucher that comes with your room rental meant we ate very well. Staff at the hotel were very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbransfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The room was farely nice, although not much of a view since you just saw the walls of another building from the window. Great location. The Mad Batter restaurant serves a nice breakfast.

What stood out was the lackluster attitude of the manager who checked us in. No warmth at all. Maybe because we were using a Groupon or Living Social deal? (I forgot which.) Or because we're not white? I say this because he was joking with and solicitous to the couple who checked in just ahead of us. For us, it was completely prefunctory. Here's your key and breakfast voucher. No recommendations or anything.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2011

I have been in the restaurant hotel business for over 30 years...I have been called alot of things in this lifetime. To say that because they felt I was not friendly enough( even though I joked with them during their stay is insulting.
It is embarrassing to me that people would use the race card as the reason I was unfriendly. Did they talk to me? No..Or to say that I was unhappy that they were Living Social customers here at the hotel where we have accomodated in two deals over 800 people.
Get real!
Mark Kulkowitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Our stay at Carroll Villa was a very pleasant one. The location of the bed & breakfast is ideal-- just a half of a block from the beach in one direction, and a half of a block from lots of cute shops/restaurants in the other direction. It's easy to almost pass this B&B, which we did several times, as it has a huge porch that serves as a restaurant (The Mad Batter) and an unclear entryway. You have to walk through the restaurant to get inside. Sorry to the waitress that I walked into! The B&B itself is very cozy-- just what you would expect in Cape May. Victorian theme throughout. The room was comfortably small, well decorated and very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful-- pointing us right to the Happy Hour at the restaurant :) We both had a really great time, and the Carroll Villa was a wonderful place to stay. Also, parking is offered to guests! Make time in your stay to check out the Mad Batter for breakfast/lunch-- the oatmeal blueberry pancakes were amazing.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlsandfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We loved the hotel, the staff was super personable and accomodating especially since I was coming from work in NYC and arrived very late! I asked for Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and a rose and the presentation was perfect all done with care and precision. Also the Mad Batter restaurant is INCREDIBLE! Honestly for a little restaurant attached to a bed and breakfast it was one of the BEST breakfasts I've ever had. My waitress was just so sweet and helpful, even when I told her I had no cash for tip and had to bring it back 3 hours later. When I returned she not only graciously thanked us but also took a photo of us in front of the B&B. Also the front desk/owners were great, we told them that we wanted to visit some wineries and he promptly handed us a voucher for a free wine tasting and pointed us in all the right directions. All in all my engagement was perfect and much thanks to the Carroll Villa.

Only complaint the walls are super thin and we heard some things we would rather not have.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANCEism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Couldn't be in a better spot, close to everything in Cape May. Very friendly staff. Room was tiny but soo cute!--very clean. Because it was small, the bed was small, but I believe they have larger rooms. Pillows were a little skimpy. They give you a certificate for breakfast in their Mad Batter restaurant, and 30% off dinner if you choose. Mad Batter also has a fabulous happy hour @ their bar. Location, value, clean, excellent service--what more could you ask for? Loved it!

Room Tip: If you need more space ask about different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joker502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
272 reviews
0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,359 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £71 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing