We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always enjoyable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We always enjoy our stay at The Carroll Villa Hotel. The staff is friendly and they go out of their way to accommodate you. The beach and the wonderful shops are just a short walk away. The Mad Batter Restaurant is excellent and the bar is a great place to gather after a day on the beach or just relaxing in the town. We have visited the Carroll Villa many times and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    348
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
141
771
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Secane, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This was an absolutely charming, warm and cozy establishment. I could not believe how immaculately clean everything was. It was the best stay that I have had since going to Cape May previously. Everyone could not have been nicer. The breakfast at the Mad Batter that comes with your stay was the best I have ever had at the Jersey Shore. Sorry to say I did not take advantage of the 30% off dinner that you get also. I will next time, since I will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: I liked the quietness of the 3rd floor. Had a small room, (#10) but very adequate for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

During our stay at the Carroll Villa hotel my mother and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The Mad Batter Restaurant was beyond words amazing! Everything from the breakfast to the dinner to the amazing martinis at the bar. The Bartender was very nice and could certainly make an awesome drink! We stayed in room 6, which was the king size bed with private bathroom. The room was quite large and although we didn't take advantage of it, had quite a bit of storage for clothes and necessities. The room was clean and had an old Victorian feel. The only thing I would have to say is next time we will bring our our own pillows, because although the bed was comfortable the pillows were uncomfortable. The location was great only being about 500ft from the ocean and 500ft from the shopping, so everything was in walking distance. Overall our stay was great, the staff was helpful, and very nice. This is a bed and breakfast we will definitely be coming back to.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you very much for your review...I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here. It always makes us feel good to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay....Happy Holidays and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

It was great having a bar and restaurant on the premises. Staff was friendly and room was very clean. We would definitely recommend the Hotel to anyone.travelling to Cape May.

Stan D

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

staying at the carroll villa hotel is a dream. the rooms have the original victorian furniture yet with modern accommodations (mini fridge, tv, soft sheets & toiletries). a delicious bonus is the mad batter restaurant (as a guest, your receive a discount). if you are an early riser, coffee is available in the parlor where there are games and reading materials. the carroll villa is a few strides to the beach as well as to the victorian mall shops. check-in is super easy (as they've taken all your info previously). there is a loading zone in front for easy drop off and parking is a short walk which gives you an overview of that part of cape may along while breathing the incredible ocean air. the carroll villa staff are wonderful and will aid in any way they can to assure your stay is delightful. the mad batter wait staff know the menu inside and out helping you to decide upon a meal to titillate your pallet. the only downside to this adventure, is, having to leave; but then i always may return!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tree i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royersford, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

My bf and I stayed at the Carroll Villa Inn over the Thanksgiving weekend. We enjoyed our stay. With the handy bike rack at the back of the property, we easily stored our bikes after our daily bike rides. We enjoyed the ocean view from room #4. The location of this property is wonderful. We were able to walk to dinner, the Congress Hall (The Boiler Room) for evening dancing and even walked to church on Sunday. I'm sure you will enjoy your stay at the Carroll Villa Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms # 4 and the one above it have an ocean view. #4 was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Carroll Villa hotel over the 2011 Thanksgiving weekend on a visit to Cape May. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. The rooms are clean, but small. However, given that the building was built in the 1800s you shouldn't expect it to be spacious. The decor is charming and there is a common area where you can watch TV, read, or just sit and talk. The only downside is that they do not have a parking lot and we had to park our car a few blocks away. Thankfully, parking was free as it was the holiday weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing