We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

We missed the whole summer without going to the beach even though we are only a couple of hours away. We decided on a last minute trip to Cape May and decided to stay at Carroll Villa since they had a special going on. We decided on just four days due to work schedule and labor day had already passed so we figured empty beach town. Boy were we wrong! The hotel is nice, old and rooms are bit smaller than photos but distance to everything made it worth it. Also having a restaurant right downstairs was great. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner the most and the service was good too. We ate here often because they give you meal voucher and food was always good. Still a little pricey but we were on vacation so we expected it. The beach was gorgeous and still had lifeguards! Shops were open and town still a little crowded. There was Washington Square mall with all different kinds of shops down the street from hotel. We enjoyed trolley tours and mansion tours highlighting cape may history, unique houses lining the streets. All we wanted was a little time away from our stressful work schedules. What we got in return was a beautiful destination we visit again every year going forward!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

The one-night trip thru Living Social delivered more than expected. The staff was very accommodating and our room was bigger than usual for a B & B. The bathroom was big and beautiful. Meals at the Mad Batter were outstanding. We had gorgeous weather and walked everywhere. A truly great time and we recommend you to book a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottyberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We chose this place because we got a good deal. What a pleasant surprise! It was a lovely old hotel with great staff and 1/2 block from the beach. Our room had a small seating area and there was a bottle of wine and a balloon as I had mentioned that it was my husband's birthday. The restaurant "Mad Batter" was very good and the bar has a happy hour every day with 50 % off drinks. It is near the main shopping street with nice shops and other restaurants. We plan to go back for my birthday in March.

Room Tip: Their web site gives a description of each room available. They have 21 rooms. No elevator, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liepschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My fiancée and I spent a weekend at the Carroll Villa Hotel. The accommodations and service were excellent and the food at the Mad Batter was top notch. Proximity to the beach and restaurants/shopping was great. Would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goof2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

After 7 years of returning to our favorite place to stay in Cape May we still feel the same. Wonderful, warm.clean and comfortable. The friendly staff, great food and location will always keep us coming back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momsquaredNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We booked this 1 night trip through Living Social. It was a great value and we had a wonderful time. Our check-in was fast and easy and, even though we were a little early, we were able to get to our room because it was ready. The room was small, but very adeuate and clean. It was on the 2nd fl (no elevator) but we were told that when we made the reservation, so no surprises. We were also told parking was a 5 minute walk away (during the time period we went), but could unload across the street from the B&B. Again, it was fine. We had a good breakfast in the restaurant the next morning, a bottle of wine,an interesting historical trolley ride, wine tasting coupons, etc. (all included in the price).. The location of the B&B was also perfect...near the beach and shopping. One suggestion is that you consider the Capy May Playhouse because the shows are hight quality and enjoyable. A very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Our idea of a perfect B&B -- a unique, clean, well-appointed room with private bath and a non-communal breakfast (voucher for 1st floor restaurant, dine when and with whom you want, no group breakfasts). Pro's: well-located on quiet street but close to everything, private, clean, great bar and restaurant on premises. Con's: no on-site parking, no elevator ie 3rd floor rooms are a real hike esp w heavy bags. But overall, terrific. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichmondFan3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £99 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing