We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2013

just got home and had to post as nice as it gets room very comfortable .The place is almost a B&B has all the charm of a B&B right off the beach and 2 blocks from downtown you can walk every place from her staff is warm and friendly ready to help with any thing could not ask for anything more . Place is post card pretty 1800 s Victorian and very well taken care of

Room Tip: has stairs call first for your needs
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 116AMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,217)
There are newer reviews for Carroll Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

Can I give the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter 6 stars? I have been taking my son (11 years old) to Cape May for many years now. This is the first time we stayed at the Carroll Villa. It will not be the last. Great room, great location, great service, just a great value. 1800’s experience with all the modern amenities. Very family friendly. Just be mindful that there is not an elevator. Only three floors so not a problem for us.
The Mad Batter is just simply wonderful. It’s like visiting family every year we go there. We eat most of our meals there during our stay. Just can’t get enough. The menu is outstanding. There is a reason that there is a wait for a table all day long. Thank You, to all the wonderful staff at the restaurant and hotel. See you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Poppy W. Thank you very much for your vote of six stars! We in turn enjoyed your company very much indeed. Have a great year from all of us at the CV and the MB. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

WOW! What an amazing time we had. The place has that Jersey Hometown feel, friendly staff, Chica, Pam and Kathy the staff, I cannot say enough about their willingness to help with our stay. The food was great!! The beautiful tree line streets and clean, really clean..I would recommend the Carroll Villa to all my friends and family.

Again, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL VACATION!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Norma:
That's our all star line-up. Pam, Kathi and Chita. Always ready, willing and able. Like Jordan, Pippen and Rodman. Thank you for your kind review from all of us at the Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is the first time we stayed at the Carroll Villa in Cape May, NJ.....and we had the best time ever! My husband and I came along with our daughter, son-in-law and 9 1/2 month old grandson...we would definitely stay here again. The rooms were perfect, hotel staff were wonderful. As far as the Mad Batter Restuarant.....the BEST breakfast's around!! Thanks to the Carroll Villa we had a tremendous time.

Room Tip: For a family with a baby, Room 31 seemed perfect for our daughter and son-in-law and their very acti...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theotokus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Hotel Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Its is so nice to hear that you had the best time ever while staying for the first time at the Carroll Villa Hotel. Our staff work very hard to ensure our guests are happy and it is gratifying to know that you enjoyed yourself and had a lovely time with your family. Thank you for your nice review.
Jill, Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you're considering a long weekend at The Carroll Villa, make your reservations now. We didn't think we could get a room but they had a Sunday night open and we took the room with the balcony overlooking Jackson Ave.

It was spacious, well appointed with rows of flowers on the balcony for privacy. Mark & Pam are the owners and if they know it's a special occasion, they go all out to make the event a special one.

We ate at their restaurant for lunch and check out the shrimp tacos..... they were the best! (Carrot cake for desert was truly wonderful.)

They're known for their breakfasts and those pecan waffles are now my favorite and they know how to make a good cup of endless coffee.

When you combine good food, a hopping friendly bar with music, and a room that feels like home, it's a great long weekend.
Enjoy,
Brian Krause

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony. It's the only one at the hotel. We have stayed in several of...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Staff was very friendly. We stayed in room 19. Full size bed is kind of small but the room was very clean. I would stay here again if I made it back down to Cape May. The Mad Hatter was good for breakfast, I did not eat here for dinner but it was always busy so it must be good all around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosco25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Location is key. A block from the beach and a block from the promenade. After a $35 one minute overtime parking ticket, (beware), We parked the car in the complimentary lot which was a bit of a hike. But we never had to go back to get it during our stay everything was within a 3 block walk on streets which are illuminated with gas lamps. The house restaurant, Madbatter was excellent for breakfast and dinner and the staff couldnt have been nicer. Other restaurants we dined at in the surroundings were just as good if not better. Cape May is pricey but if you want a classic beach getaway without rampaging kids blasting music with coarse lyrics and a sophisticated old world style take a ride on the Garden State Parkway and enjoy.

Ralph S.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: £124 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing