We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“34 Years and Counting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“34 Years and Counting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our first trip to the Carroll Villa was in 1979 or 1980. The Mad Batter Restaurant was recommended to us by a close friend and we decided to stay at the hotel. We have visited several times since and have never been disappointed. The rooms are quaint and the staff very friendly and accommodating. And, it is only half a block to the beach!

I also consider the value very compelling. Whenever we stay in Cape May we always make it a point to eat most breakfast/lunch at the Mad Batter and also will eat dinner there a couple of times during our stay. Considering the package of a voucher which covers most of the cost of the breakfast and a discount for dinner, it just makes sense to stay here. The service was excellent. Chita was most helpful at check in and Greg and Carol made excellent recommendations during our dinners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Guest Relations Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Fred S. Thank you for your continued patronage and thank you for letting us know that you have enjoyed yourself here over the years. Best regards, Chita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    348
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
142
772
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My son and I had a brief stay at the Carrol Villa in August. We'd been before with my husband who couldn't make this trip.

The location can't be beat - you're right there on historic Jackson street - a block from the beach in one direction and to the Wasington Mall area in the other. Breakfast comes in the form of a voucher to be used at the Mad Batter for lunch or dinner. Can't beat the breakfast and the number of choices. The restaurant also has a wonderful dinner and guests receive a discount.

Parking is provided via a voucher to be used in a parking lot about a quater mile away. The walk isn't bad at all with lots of things to look at.

If you're looking for sumptuous lodging - this isn't the place - it's lovely and clean but it's in an old Victorian building - the rooms are on the smaller side. If you want to be in the middle of Cape May and don't plan on spending a ton of time in the room - then you can't beat the Carroll Villa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaandRandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear LisaandRandJ: We love that you enjoyed our great location and terrific breakfast. Glad you and your son had fun while staying with us and hope that you call all make it again sometime. Thank you for your nice review from all of us at the CV and the MB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Overall very nice, in a great location. The only negative was the lack of outdoor space due to the restaurant taking up the whole porch. This may not be important to other people, but we missed being able to relax on a porch in the evening hours. Having the restaurant there is a plus, so it really was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy78739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Kathy78739:
We do have available Room 20 on the first floor which has its own porch. We hope you will stay with us again sometime and perhaps book that room so you can have the porch to relax on in the evenings . Thank you for your nice review. Have a Great Day from Jill at the Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I have been to the Carroll Villa a number of times though the years. There is always a consistence in the service and quality. You could not get a better breakfast or dinner, then maybe stop at the bar for an after dinner drink and mingle with the locals. Check out the artwork featured everywhere in the public areas and rooms. The Jackson street location is primo for a walk on the beach or a visit to the Mall.

Room Tip: Stayed in the annex (#21 on the 2nd floor) located on the front of the building with windows along t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSP6367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear GSP6367: It is very satisfying to be noticed for our consistency in service and quality. Glad to read that you have marked your calendar for a return visit and thank you very much for your super review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I had a great time! We loved all the amenities onsite (restaurant, bar, LIVE entertainment!). The room (#26 in the annex) was nicely appointed and the color scheme very pretty. The room was exactly what we needed - a queen size bed, 2 comfortable chairs, a flat screen TV and a bathroom. Really nice for an older hotel. I might want to try the first floor bedroom with the private porch the next time. I do like to sit outside and you can only do that from the restaurant. There is no other porch (except for the private one) so I definitely would like to try that. The staff were all so nice. I even mentioned to the bartender that it reminded me of a cruise ship because you see the friendly staff morning, noon and nighttime! We will come again!

Room Tip: The bar with live entertainment is right below, but the music stops at 10:00 pm so not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Kathy S.
So nice to know that you and your husband had a great time staying with us and enjoyed all of the on-site amenities and Room 26. Can't wait to see you both again real soon.
Cheers from the good ship "Carroll Villa and Mad Batter"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is my 3rd time at the Carroll Villa and my husband's first. It is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are warm and welcoming and have the romantic charm you are looking to get for a quick week getaway. Only 1 block from the beach and 2 from downtown, everything you need is in walking distance. You can basically forget about using your car. The Villa has everything, from food, to a friendly staff to help with all your needs. And to top it all off, they provide you with a$30 voucher to use for each night of stay to use towards breakfast or lunch.

Room Tip: This has 3 flights of stairs and no elevators. Not all rooms have bathrooms in them, your bathroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Tracy M.
Thank you for saying the Carroll Villa is a wonderful place to stay and for pointing out the romantic charm of our rooms. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again. Have a great day from all of us at the CV and the MB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I had another wonderful stay at Carroll Villa Hotel. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful, and the hotel is filled with warm, comfortable furnishings. The restaurant makes the "deal" especially desirable, since breakfast is included in the room price. The people that wait outside the restaurant for a table every morning is a testament to the great breakfasts that are served. The beach is a half block away, as is the mall. Cape May is a great place for walking or bike riding, and the Carroll Villa Hotel is ideally placed.

Room Tip: Room 20 is the only room on the ground floor, It is very small but has a porch to sit on and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Victoria: We are glad to know that you had an excellent experience at our B&B. Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing