We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in the storm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Port in the storm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our stay was nice despite wet cold windy weather. Many perks helped...2 wine-tastings, trolley tour, free breakfast with mimosas, 30% off dinner! Food was delicious! Our room was in the annex and it was small, but cozy and clean. The rain on the roof outside the window was noisy and did disturb my sleep, but that couldn't be helped. The building is old which ads to it's charm...it has a history! Given a similar deal, I would gladly return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Happy to be your "port in the storm" as Cape May has been for centuries to many a sailor. Thank you for appreciating the charm and history of the Carroll Villa. Hope to see you again in the fall possibly. Have a great summer from all of us at the CV and the MB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    350
    83
    37
    22
See reviews for
147
779
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived in Cape May from North Carolina after several tornadoes and rain. The Carroll Villa helped us forget the fact that it was raining before and during our stay with a wonderful package deal that included trips to local wineries. The rooms are a little small but the atmosphere and food were great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your trip. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your package deal at the Carroll Villa. We hope that you will visit us again sometime and that the weather will be more cooperative. Kathi, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Carroll Villa is on a lovely street and in a great location. It is a half block to the beach one way and about the same the other way to the Market Street Mall, which has many quaint shops and candy stores, etc. Our room was on the third floor of the hotel (no elevator) but we were aware of this in advance and it was no problem. The room was very clean. It was rather small but still comfortable for our overnight stay. The decor was okay - not fabulous but acceptable. There was live music in the bar the night we stayed but it did not disturb us at all. The room was very quiet. The Inn is not one of the most beautiful Victorians in Cape May as it has a porch front restaurant which was enclosed during our stay. It might be much prettier in summer with the plastic sides drawn up. You do have to walk through that area to get to the door of the Inn but it was really no problem. Breakfast at the restaurant was excellent and we enjoyed dinner there, too. The bar has a great Happy Hour and the live music I mentioned earlier was fantastic. Kathi at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out were a breeze,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Office Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear TF86: Thank you for appreciating the good things the Carroll Villa has to offer while visiting Cape May. It was nice to read your pleasing comments and we hope that you will stay with us again sometime. Best wishes for a wonderful summer from the Staff at the Carroll Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Good value for the price. Breakfast and dinner portions are huge. Only downside is the trek up the stairs to the 3rd floor. 4 wine tastings and a trolley included. Bloody Mary's and mimosas included. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trucker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Trucker: Glad you enjoyed your Travel Zoo package at our hotel. Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again. The Staff at the Carroll Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My daughter and I loved it!! the staff was very friendly and accomodating, the room was very clean, spacious and very victorian!! Breakfast at the Mad Batter was one of the best we had in a long time!! They have a great gluten free menu!! WE will definetley come back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Everything was great, from the location to the beach and sights, tourist spots. Check in was very easy, service from the staff was great, everyone was very helpful. Our room was very spacious, and pretty. Everything was clean. It was a wonderful experience. The area is beautiful! The service and food in the Mad Batter was excellent! We appreciate the $30 voucher for breakfast and 30% off for dinner. We diffenetly want to return in the fall. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faithmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Faithmama: You rock! Thank you for you fantastic review. We are looking forward to your return. Have a terrific summer. Jill, Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I cam to this bed and breakfast with a friend. We came in late April (the off season) and the staff was very courteous and we had dinner at the on-site restaurant, which was very good. The bed was very comfortable and the room was roomy. We stayed in one of the larger Queen rooms. Our stay was nice and quiet. We had breakfast the next morning, which was amazing (pancakes and mimosas!). The location is great - a block away from the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Andrea, Thank you for staying at the Carroll Villa. We are gratified to know you had a nice time and the you enjoyed our restaurant as well. Hope you come back again soon. The beach awaits your return. Happy trails from all of us at the CV and the MB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing