We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations, great food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Room was good sized, nice and clean. Front desk staff helpful. Wait staff friendly, especially Tom. No porch to sit on due to outside seating for Mad Batter restaurant. No on site parking, however only a liesurely 10 minute walk to off site lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F13fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for complementing the accommodations, the food and the staff. We all greatly appreciate it. Please come back and stay with us again soon. Jill, Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    355
    85
    39
    23
See reviews for
153
807
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The location is perfect!! The room was super clean and the bed was so comfortable. I would definitely stay again. The staff was friendly & helpful. Breakfast was delicious crabmeat eggs Benedict was really good. Rooms get filled quickly in the summer to check for availability. Great place to relax!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Rach2388: Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our bed and breakfast hotel. We appreciate your lovely comments and hope you can stay with us again soon. Have a great summer from all of the Staff at CV and the MB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was informed about the unloading process so that wasn’t a problem. Parking would be inconvenient for someone that can’t get dropped off because it is a ways to walk.
My awkward moments began when I asked the Restaurant greeter could I review the menu. She said she could provide it to me ONLY IF I was ordering at that moment. I told her we just wanted to sit down and view the menu..again she said ONLY IF I was going to be seated. She provided me a sample menu that didn’t have all of the items listed and turned to assist someone else.

Later that day, I was enjoying the live band but there were no more standing room, so I asked the Greeter could I sit at one of the many empty tables at the time and she said ONLY IF you are ordering a meal. There were a rear patio where the band members left there instrument cases which is a sitting area with the ability to hear the music but no one was sitting out there. So my partner and I sat there until a space became available near the bar area.

The bed posts were seated on extensions which fell off a couple of times. My partner was able to lift the bed and reposition each post.

There is no place for patrons residing at the BB to sit outside and just enjoy the view. I asked one of the greeters and she said no, and left me to assist someone else.
I had so many snug moments when I asked the Greeters questions. It was like my questions or convenience wasn’t important and I was a resident there for 2 days. I enjoyed the area and the BB was in a great location but some of the employees covering the restaurant were rude.

The Bar employees was the BEST…they made an out of Towner feel welcome and the band was outstanding.

Friendly practices...I don't think so. If a patron would like to sit and view the menu, let them. If you can't accommodate someone, don't smug them off but try to assist them in a friendly manner. The BB should allow at least a couple of tables for the in-house guests to sit and enjoy the road-side view

Room Tip: My room was OK (#26). The bed was hard and the bed posts was lifted on extensions which will fall...
See more room tips
Green Features: The bed and mattresses need to be replaced with something new if the recycle is broken!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just came home from two days at the B&B. Beware of parking...must park on public lot that is 15 minute walk away; you will be told it is 5 minute walk. Our room in the annex was so tiny that my husband and I had to walk sideways around each other; only one of us could walk at foot of bed at a time. Bathroom was super tiny. No coffee/tea pot in room and B&B in parlor is not 24/7. Very limited seating in parlor...no table if it is rainy and you want to play a game or do a puzzle. No porch with rocking chairs which one typically looks forward to using in a B&B. BUT the food and food service was outstanding. I suggest you stay off site and just visit the restaurant at your convenience. We were there with another couple and will not return to stay overnight.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did not know this way an environmentally-friendly B&B, so I have no comment.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravelor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Ckerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay but glad you recommend our restaurant. I dare say parking is an issue in a town that was designed pre-Model T. I inform people that's it is a 10 minute walk from the parking lot. We look forward to seeing you again in the Mad Batter. Have a Great Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights using the Groupon deal. We stayed in room 20 which is the only room on the first floor with a deck. At times, outside would be a little noisey. Beautiful room. The room would have been better getting rid of the ceiling fan and installing a chandelier (suggestion). We loved our stay. The staff was great. There was one waitress that tended to talk too much to the patrons but other than that all were very nice. We received vouchers for a trolley tour, winery tours and brewery tour. We got a voucher for breakfast for both days and received 30% off dinner. The food was great but a bit pricey. The location was wonderful and convenient. Everything is walking distance (mall and beach). I didn't want to leave Cape May. It was beautiful! I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Cape May awaits your return! Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We hope to see you again in the future. Have a great Fourth of July. Kathi and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from staying here two nights and it was a great place. The hotel staff and restaurant staff were both very friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The room we stayed in (#34) was located in the annex of the building which was super quiet. The room itself was very large, having a sleeper bed and cushy chair in addition to the queen-sized bed. Since we stayed at the hotel, we received 30% off our dinner bill each night and received complementary breakfast each morning. The food (all of it) was delicious. The happy hour was also great and offered a good selection of drinks. Also, since we purchased a Groupon for our stay, we received vouchers for two winery tastings/tours, a brewery tasting/tour, and a trolley tour. These were fantastic incentives and we had a great time on each of the tours. Now, the only things that weren't super fantastic about this place were the bed, the shower, and the shades in our room. The bed was a little on the hard side and though that didn't bother me, my husband had to get used to it. Next, the shower head is somewhat low, so if you are on the tall side it will bop you on the head. Finally, we had a hard time pulling (and keeping) the shades down. Each time we lowered the shades it would take a few times to keep them down. This definitely wasn't a huge deal but it was a bit annoying. Overall, this is a great place to stay and dine!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your Groupon stay and all of the amenities that were included. Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. Also thank you for the heads up regarding the window shades. We hope you will stay with us again sometime. Have a great summer from all of us at the Carroll Villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Carroll Villa for three nights over Memorial Day weekend. Our room was quite small (the smallest with a private bathroom), to the point that we could barely pass each other, and there was no way for us to both sit and read in bed. On the other hand, the room was clean, quiet, and the bathroom, while not exactly great, was usable.
The attraction of the Carroll Villa is the ease of enjoying the breakfast, reputedly one of the best in Cape May (and we enjoyed it a great deal), and the great location. In addition, they offer some nice conveniences, like a bike rack, free off-site parking, and a sitting area where we could play Scrabble at night.
I thought the price, for what the room entailed, was a bit high, but it was a holiday weekend, and maybe prices are better when it's not as in demand.
Overall, definitely recommend, but you might also look around and see if there are similar accommodations at a lower price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_from_Broomall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing