We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Much Fun! ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but it was great! The room was clean bright and comfortable. We had a great dinner and a wonderful breakfast at the Mad Batter downstairs. The bar had live entertainment. And it all was centrally located 1/2 block from the beach. Would go back any time

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Sandra S: Sounds like you really enjoyed the appeal of the Carroll Villa and Mad Batter combination. Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again. Jill, Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    355
    85
    39
    23
See reviews for
154
807
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although we thought it overpriced, we enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was very comfortable & cozy with decor that was well arranged. Room #13 had a peek-a-boo view of the ocean, which is just a half block away. In the other direction, you are only a block from excellent shopping with restaurants in both directions. OR you can just eat on site at the Mad Batter restaurant which was always above average! No on site parking though. You will have to walk 7 minutes for the free parking which the hotel provides. Wasn't a big deal BUT you should be aware of this minor inconvenience. All in all, we would be happy to stay at the Carroll Villa again....

Room Tip: Room #13 is a corner room and has a peek a boo view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Reservation Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We are glad you found your room comfortable and cozy and that you appreciated being only a half block to the ocean and a half block to the shops. I am afraid that nothing will ever change the parking situation. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon. Jill, Reservation Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It's more of a hotel like atmosphere than a B&B. You do get breakfast but it's at their restaurant which is very well liked so rather busy. But they do a wonderful job of keeping the tables moving. Never waited very long. The Room was nice (room 6). LOVE the size of a king bed! It's what I look for, for a vacation, but the bed was really hard and the pillows were not comfortable at all. My boyfriend didn't have a problem sleeping on the bed, though he does agree with me on the pillows. Overall cute and helpful people. Clean. They give you beach towels! Bonus! Parking is not really fun, but you CANNOT beat their location! Mostly you're paying for location and the restaurant.

Room Tip: All pictures are room 6!
See more room tips
Green Features: Seem to be normal for the environmentally friendly ways hotels go now.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Carroll Villa has a very homey feel for us, with a very helpful and gracious staff, we've enjoyed every stay. Breakfast/lunch vouchers for the Mad Batter add value (and the food is delicious). Room configurations and sizes vary (some are very cozy!), but all have places and spaces for stowing your clothes and travel accessories, TV and WiFi are good, the location is terrific, nights are quiet for sleeping. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willneverbe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear willneverbe40: Thank you so much for your right-on review. The Staff especially appreciated your compliment and we all wish you a great summer and hope you come back soon. Jill, Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location. Room was okay--nothing really special about the property. I thought the room cost was overpriced for the cost. Mad Batter has excellent food and staff was great!! They give a $30 voucher per couple for the Mad Batter each day of your stay which is about right for the cost of the breakfast, but you will have to pay a cash tip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We enjoyed this hotel, just steps away from the mall and the promenade. We had a room with a 4 post bed on the 3rd floor. A true Victorian gem.. Sorry, no elevator.... The room came with breakfast vouchers for each day, a voucher fro a trolley tour of the downtown area and vouchers for wine tastings at local wineries.The was free parking at the town lot, just a short walk away.

Dinner at the Mad Batter (very good food) came with a 30% discount off your entrees. AND each day from the Mad Batter has a happy hour...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 and it was great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Bobbie: Thank you for taking the time to let people know that you enjoyed your stay at the Carroll Villa. Room 18 is lovely and its nice to know that you appreciated it. We are so happy you were able to stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Kathi and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel through a living social purchases deal! (King bed room number 4) The ceiling was falling, there was mold, a musty smell, and the bed was as hard as a rock. We had a two night stay, but spent the second night at a free hotel in Atlantic City 'Thank You Borgata'!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angie451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
669 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing