We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phila
1 review
“Our home away from home.”
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We have been staying at the Carroll Villa for years and always feel like we are back with dear friends when we return. The rooms are charming each with it's own beautifully selected wallpaper and quilts. Staff is warm and friendly and will bend over backward to make you feel welcome. The Carroll Villa is a block from the beach and in the center of town, making it an easy walk to dining, shopping and enjoying all Cape May has to offer. The Mad Batter Restaurant is on site and a stay at the Villa includes an amazing breakfast at "The Batter". Plenty of fun at the bar there as well with live music, etc. No wonder we keep going back - it's just the right combination of relaxation and fun.

Barbara and Brian

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelliePhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    352
    85
    38
    23
See reviews for
150
797
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I stayed here for two nights before heading off to Lewes as part of my driving tour of the Delmarva/Eastern Shore region. As this is a historic hotel, the stairs are narrow and parts of the hallways didn't have air conditioning. Still, this place is excellent value. The rooms are tastefully decorated and have air conditioning. I also enjoyed the delicious breakfasts in the adjoining restaurant and appreciated the graciousness of the hosts. Furthermore, they were very helpful in providing me an alternative way to "wake up" when my room's alarm clock malfunctioned after a power surge during a thunderstorm. Finally, while I understand the hotel's efforts in sustainability and environmental practices, I do suggest that it may want to install a backup air conditioning system for the hallways in case of heat waves, which did happen during my stay. Overall, this place is close to the beach, so I will recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whalerider14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
You have described the experience of a Carroll Villa stay perfectly. A little bit of uncomfortable air due to a heat wave (and a hotel that is over 200 years old) but otherwise, an overall relaxing and enjoyable experience. We thank you for your suggestions and look forward to welcoming you again as well as members of your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Stayed at Carroll Villa while in Cape May for a wedding at the recommendation of a friend. It is a cute BB within a block of the beach. You couldn't ask for a better location. The rooms are small but nice and clean. The restaurant, The Mad Batter, serves a great breakfast. I definitely recommend the pancakes. Kathi, front desk, was very nice and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WrldTrvlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We arrived in Cape May during peak season without a reservation, walked into the Carroll Villa Hotel and secured the last room available .... described as the "smallest room". The manager "Chita" was overwhelmingly accomodating throughout our stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. The attached "Mad Batter" restaurant had wonderful food selections and our meals were fabulous ! Upon checking in we were provided a voucher for either breakfast or lunch at the mad Batter ($30 credit) plus a coupon for 30% off dinner. The morning of our checkout, bookeeper "Jen" went out of her way to put together a "brunch" for us , as we were checking out at 11 and planned to stay the rest of the day on the beach. We would highly recommend the "Villa" on just the customer service alone !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Carroll Villa for our honeymoon. The staff at the Inn was very kind, courteous, generous and helpful throughout our stay. We liked it so much we extended our stay another night. We had two different rooms, 28 on the third floor and room 20 next to the restaurant. Room 28 is a large room with a huge bathroom and an additional living space. Much larger than a couple would ever need (which was nice). The room was clean and offered a nice view of the ocean which was just a block or so away. The AC worked perfectly and the room was icy cool when we walked in. The large bathroom had beautiful elegant tile and had a dressing table that my wife could use to put makeup on etc. The shower was a stand up only, but we didn't really care.

Room 20 was one very large room with a slightly smaller bathroom. It had a porch which opened up right onto the sidewalk. I was afraid the room would be very loud because of this, but with the AC going and the doors closed it was very quiet. Overall, we liked this room even better than the first.

The food at the Mad Batter was good. The Inn gives you vouchers for breakfast or lunch for each day that you're there. The $30/day voucher is more than enough for breakfast or lunch. FYI-voucher doesn't cover tip or alcohol.

In General we found Cape May, New Jersey very tacky and generic, luckily The Carroll Villa Inn made our honeymoon a complete success.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My Wife and I have gone to Cape May for the last fourteen years and have always stayed in the Carroll Villa hotel and will do so each time we visit Cape May. The room is clean and the décor is in the Victorian era. The staff is always glad to see us return and go over and above to make sure we are happy with our stay.

The Villa is located in the historic section of Cape May a ½ block to the beach and walking shopping mall. To us it is worth the money to relax here and take in all that Cape May has to offer.

The Mad Batter restaurant that is connected to the hotel is outstanding. The food is fresh and delicious. Their own versions of different dishes are a taste treat. Our tradition is to eat there for dinner the first night and the hotel gives their guests 30% off. What more could you ask for! We wait with great excitement for breakfast in the morning and why not, they make the best pancakes in New Jersey. The fruit bowl knocks our socks off. This is why we love to stay at the Carroll Villa and eat at the Mad Batter.

John and Alexandra Woody
Wayne NJ

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwoody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2009

I visited Cape May for the first time with my husband and had a great experience. I stayed at the Carol Villa Hotel based on other trip advisor reviews which I depend on for most of my travels. The Carol Villa Hotel was located in town and convenient for shopping, restaurants and the beach. Cheetah, who made my reservation over the phone and checked us in was very hospitable and accomaditing to all our needs. The hotel is very clean I would stay there again if i return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louieespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May
Carroll Villa Hotel Cape May, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing